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A message from ERS Executive Director Porter Wilson

Congratulations on your new job! Let me be among the 
first to welcome you to public service.

As a State of Texas employee, you earn benefits that are 
comprehensive and, on average, make up about one-
third of total compensation. The valuable benefits offered 
to you are designed to enhance your wellness and help 
secure your future.

The decisions you make—some of which must be made in your first 31 to 
60 days of employment—will affect your health care, retirement security and 
take-home pay. I encourage you to take time to read about your options in 
this guide so you can make informed choices during your first few weeks on 
the job. Then, make the most of your benefits to improve your health, your 
financial well-being and your peace of mind.

At the Employees Retirement System of Texas, we’re proud to support 
excellence in public service by administering health insurance, retirement 
and other benefits to state agency employees and their families. We’re 
committed to supporting you as you serve your fellow citizens. This New 
Employee Benefits Guide provides the information you need to make the most 
of your State of Texas retirement, insurance and related benefits. For more 
information, visit the ERS website at www.ers.texas.gov.

Sincerely,

Porter Wilson
Executive Director
Employees Retirement System of Texas

Employees Retirement System of Texas 
Always available online at www.ers.texas.gov

24/7 access to information about insurance and retirement benefits 
To speak to a representative, call (877) 275-4377 (TDD: 711), Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT. 

 
August 2024

The New Employee Benefits Guide for Plan Year 2025 highlights benefits that are effective at the time of publication. 
All Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP) benefits could change without notice. The Texas Legislature 

decides the funding level for GBP benefits and has no obligation to provide for them beyond each fiscal year.

ERS offers competitive benefits to enhance the lives of its members.

https://www.ers.texas.gov
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Signing up for your benefits
As a State of Texas employee, ERS will 
automatically enroll you in: 
•	 HealthSelect of Texas®, a point-of-service health plan, which 

includes prescription drug coverage. Automatic enrollment in 
health insurance applies only to full-time employees.

•	 $5,000 Basic Term Life and accidental death and 
dismemberment (AD&D) insurance. This comes automatically 
with your health insurance at no cost to you if you are a full-time 
employee. (Part-time employees who enroll in health insurance 
pay half the cost of their Basic Term Life and AD&D insurance.)

•	 State of Texas Retirement. As a state agency employee starting 
after Aug. 31, 2022, you are in ERS’ Retirement Group 4, with a 
type of defined benefit retirement called a cash balance benefit. 
Group 4 members contribute 6% of their salary, an amount set by 
the Texas Legislature, to their State of Texas Retirement accounts 
every month. You cannot opt out of, increase or decrease this 
contribution, which is taken from your monthly paycheck before 
taxes. When you’re eligible and ready to retire, the state will 
match your account’s entire "balance by 150% and you will get 
a monthly annuity payment from ERS for the rest of your life—
no matter how long you live. See page 34 to learn more about 
your State of Texas Retirement account. If you started at a state 
agency before Sept. 1, 2022 or think you might be in a different 
retirement group, please see pages 33–34 for more information. 

•	 Texa$averSM 401(k) retirement savings account. If you're a 
first-time state employee—or returning after a break in state 
employment—you will automatically contribute to a Texa$aver 
401(k). Your 1% monthly contribution is deducted from your 
paycheck before taxes and invested in an investment product 
selected by the ERS Board of Trustees (currently a target date 
fund that correlates with the date you reach traditional retirement 
age). You can also open a 457 account, instead of or in addition 
to a 401(k), and choose the amount you want deducted from your 
paycheck. If you transferred directly from another state agency or 
are a return-to-work retiree, you can enroll in a Texa$aver 401(k) 
and/or 457 account and choose the contribution amount you want 
deducted from your paycheck. Both the 401(k) and 457 plans allow 
you to increase your contribution and/or make changes to your 
account or investments at any time. See page 35 to learn more, 
including how to make changes or opt out and how Texa$aver can 
help you achieve a more financially secure retirement.

You have a choice
If you don’t want to enroll in HealthSelect of Texas, 
you may choose Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM, 
a high-deductible health plan and tax-free health 
savings account (HSA) with a monthly HSA 
contribution from the State of Texas.

You can also enroll in these following 
optional benefits:
•	 one of two dental insurance plans;
•	 State of Texas VisionSM insurance;
•	 additional life insurance for you and/or your 

eligible dependents;
•	 additional AD&D insurance;
•	 short-term and/or long-term disability coverage 

through the Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP); 
and/or

•	 TexFlexSM flexible spending account(s) to lower 
your taxes while saving for certain expenses.

What are your benefits worth?
For the average state employee, the State of Texas 
benefits package makes up more than one-third of 
their total compensation.
Average state employee total compensation = $78,146
•	 $50,590 in salary
•	 $27,556 in benefits

Great benefits are a major reason new employees 
choose state employment (Source: https://sao.
texas.gov/reports/main/22-705.pdf).

A note to full-time employees
Unless you opt out of health coverage or select another plan, ERS will automatically enroll you in HealthSelect of Texas. 
You can change health plans or enroll in a TexFlex health care or limited-purpose FSA during your health coverage 
waiting period (60 -90 days), but your participation won’t begin until the end of your health coverage waiting period. You 
have 31 days from your hire date to sign up for optional benefits. If you miss this deadline, you will have to wait until the 
Summer Enrollment period or until you experience a qualifying life event, such as marriage or a new child. If you wait to 
sign up, coverage in some plans is not guaranteed.

Health Insurance – 11.5%

Vacation, Holidays and  
Sick Leave – 10.5%

Other (payroll expense,  
longevity pay) – 6.8%

Pension – 6.5%

Salary 
64.7%

Getting started

https://sao.texas.gov/reports/main/22-705.pdf
https://sao.texas.gov/reports/main/22-705.pdf
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Benefits checklist

Note: If you opt out and have other group health insurance 
that is comparable to ERS' health insurance, you can get a 
Health Insurance Opt- Out Credit to apply toward premiums 
for dental, vision and/or Voluntary AD&D Insurance.

Health insurance 
If you are a full-time employee subject to a health insurance 
waiting period, change your health insurance from 
HealthSelect of Texas to one of the following options:
•	 Consumer Directed HealthSelect (and don't forget to 

open an Optum Bank health savings account) or
•	 opt out of or waive health coverage.

If you are a part-time employee, enroll yourself in:
•	 HealthSelect of Texas or
•	 Consumer Directed HealthSelect.

Enroll eligible dependents in the same plan you’re 
enrolled in.
•	 Complete dependent child certification and begin the 

dependent eligibility verification process. See page 5.

Certify tobacco-use status for yourself 
and any covered dependents.
See page 15.

TexFlexhealth care or limited-purpose 
FSA
•	 Health care FSA for out-of-pocket health care 

expenses not covered by insurance (not available to 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants)

•	 Limited-purpose FSA for dental and vision expenses 
not covered by insurance (available only to Consumer 
Directed HealthSelect participants)

Note: Your dependents don’t need to be enrolled in 
your health insurance for you to set up flexible spending 
accounts and submit claims for their expenses.

Within 60 days of your hire

At any time
Texa$aver voluntary retirement savings 
account(s)
•	 Open a 457 account.
•	 Increase your 401(k) and/or 457 account contribution.
•	 Change how your 401(k) and/or 457 account is invested.
•	 Opt out of your Texa$aver account.

Add and update beneficiaries for:
•	 Life insurance
•	 Texa$aver
•	 State of Texas Retirement
•	 Health savings account (if enrolled in Consumer 

Directed HealthSelect)

Within 31 days of your start date
Enroll yourself and your eligible dependents in optional 
coverage. You cannot enroll your dependents in any 
coverage that you’re not enrolled in.

Dental insurance –  
coverage for you and your family
•	 DeltaCare® USA dental health maintenance 

organization (DHMO) or
•	 State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM preferred 

provider organization (PPO)

Vision insurance –  
coverage for you and your family
•	 State of Texas Vision

Optional Term Life Insurance –  
coverage for yourself
•	 Coverage at 1 or 2 times your annual salary
•	 Coverage at 3 or 4 times your annual salary,  

through evidence of insurability

Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance – 
coverage for you and your family
•	 $10,000 – $200,000 for yourself or for yourself and your 

family

Dependent Term Life Insurance – 
coverage for your family
•	 Coverage for eligible dependents

Texas Income Protection Plan (TIPP) – 
coverage for you
•	 Short-term disability insurance
•	 Long-term disability insurance

TexFlex dependent care flexible 
spending account (FSA)
•	 Reimburses you for eligible costs for child (under age 

13) and adult care while you're at work
•	 For information on health care or limited-purpose 

flexible spending accounts (FSAs), please see the 
TexFlex entry under “Within 60 days of your hire.”
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When will my benefits start? 
Your benefits begin based on the date you start work, when 
you enroll and the benefits you choose. See page 7 of this 
guide for detailed information about important dates and 
when your coverages take effect. 

If I’m transferring from one state agency to 
another, do I need to re-enroll in insurance 
benefits?
Yes. As part of your onboarding, your new agency will 
need to re-enroll you and will ask you to make your health 
insurance and optional benefits elections.

What happens if I don’t make my health 
insurance elections within 60 days of my 
start date and elections for other benefits 
within 31 days of my start date? 
As a new employee with a health coverage waiting period, 
you have 31 days to enroll in optional benefits and 60 days 
to decide on health insurance. See the Benefits Checklist on 
page 3 of this guide for more information.

If you don’t enroll in most optional plans within your first 31 
days or decide on health insurance within your first 60 days, 
you must wait until Summer Enrollment or until you have a 
life change (also called a qualifying life event). After your 
first 31 days of employment, you may be required to submit 
evidence of insurability (EOI) for certain optional insurance 
plans, and coverage is not guaranteed. See pages 5 and 27 
of this guide for detailed information on EOI.

What’s the most important thing to know 
about coverage for my dependents?
There are many important details to know about dependent 
eligibility. See the Dependent Coverage and Eligibility 
information on pages 5–6 of this guide. You can also find GBP 
eligibility information on the ERS website at https://ers.texas.
gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/GBP-Eligibility and https://ers.
texas.gov/PDFs/Dependent-eligibility-chart.pdf.  

Are there resources to help me estimate 
monthly costs for my insurance options? 
Yes. Find premium rates and plan comparison charts in this 
book and on the ERS website at https://ers.texas.gov/
Active-Employees/Rates. The website also has a helpful 
rate calculator.

Where can I find more information about 
ERS retirement Group 4?
Visit the State of Texas Retirement for Active Employees 
page on the ERS website at https://ers.texas.gov/Active-
Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement to view 
the “ERS Group 4 Retirement Benefits” explainer video and 
the “Overview of Group 4 Retirement” fact sheet. There’s 
also other helpful information on that page. 

What’s the “three-legged stool” of 
retirement income? 
Your ERS pension is only one part of a financially secure 
retirement. With this in mind, state agency employees 
should plan to have at least two other sources of income in 
retirement: Social Security benefits and personal retirement 
savings like a Texa$aver account. To learn more, see pages 
34–35 of this guide or visit the Retirement at a Glance page 
at https://ers.texas.gov/benefits-at-a-glance/retirement.  

Why should I contribute to a 401(k) or 457 
if I plan to retire with the state?
Even with your State of Texas Retirement pension, a 
comfortable income after you retire requires careful 
planning and steady investment over time in personal 
retirement savings. Texa$aver allows you to increase 
your retirement savings with voluntary pre-tax or post-tax 
(Roth) contributions to a 401(k) and/or 457 account directly 
from your paycheck. The program offers low fees, a wide 
variety of investment options and free consultations with 
retirement plan advisors. Learn more on pages 35–36 or 
at https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/
Texa$aver-401(k)-457-Program.   

What is “cost sharing”? 
As your employer, the State of Texas currently covers 
more than two-thirds of health care costs for all ERS health 
insurance. Plan participants share the rest of the health 
costs through copays, coinsurance, prescription and/or 
medical deductibles, and premium payments for dependents, 
part-time employees and retirees who don't get the state's 
full premium contributions. In addition to designing health 
plans in which the state and participants share costs, ERS 
makes every effort to keep administrative expenses low and 
manage health care cost inflation for members. For a quick 
explainer, watch the “Cost sharing and how it works” video at 
https://youtu.be/8X2EFNup580.   

Where can I find more FAQs? 
Visit the Frequently Asked Questions page on the 
ERS website at https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/
Additional-Resources/FAQs.  

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/GBP-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/GBP-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/PDFs/Dependent-eligibility-chart.pdf
https://ers.texas.gov/PDFs/Dependent-eligibility-chart.pdf
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Rates
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Rates
https://ers.texas.gov/benefits-at-a-glance/retirement
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Texa$aver-401(k)-457-Program
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Texa$aver-401(k)-457-Program
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs
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Your spouse and other eligible dependents can 
get health insurance and other coverage for an 
additional premium. However, you must enroll in 
a health, dental and/or vision plan before you can 
enroll your dependents.

Your dependents must meet certain criteria to be eligible. 
Please see the dependent eligibility chart on page 6.

You can also go online at https://ers.texas.gov/New-
Employee/Insurance-Eligibility to learn more about who 
qualifies for GBP insurance coverage.

If you want to enroll eligible dependents in Dependent 
Term Life Insurance, now is the best time to sign up. Your 
dependent will not need to provide evidence of insurability if 
you sign them up within your first month of employment.

Certifying dependent children
If you enroll a child or children through your ERS OnLine 
account, you’ll have to certify each one before you submit 
your enrollment elections.

If you enroll your children with help from your benefits 
coordinator/human resources department or the HHS 
Employee Service Center, you must fill out, sign and return 
the Dependent Child Certification form. Get the form:

•	 from your benefits coordinator/HR department or the HHS 
Employee Service Center or

•	 at https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Forms. 
Scroll down until you see the link to the Dependent Child 
Certification form. You can fill it out online and print 
it, or you can print it and write the information in ink.
The certification is legally binding. If you submit false 
information, you and your dependents could lose your 
benefits or be subject to other penalties.

Dependent coverage and eligibility

After your first 31 or 60 days of employment, you can make benefit changes only during Summer Enrollment 
unless you have a qualifying life event—for example, you get married or divorced, or you have a child. 
However, you must make benefit changes within 31 days of that life event.

IMPORTANT: Enroll in valuable coverage, no questions asked, for 31 days
If you want optional life insurance at one or two times your annual salary, Dependent Term Life Insurance and/
or TIPP disability insurance, now is the best time to sign up. If you enroll within your first month of employment, 

you or your eligible dependents will not need to provide evidence of insurability (EOI). EOI is an application process that 
requires you to provide information about your or your dependents’ health.

If you wait, you will have to apply for these benefits through EOI and run the risk of not qualifying based on your results. 
Don’t miss this 31-day window of opportunity! (Note: Optional life insurance at three or four times your annual salary 
always requires EOI, even in your first month of employment.)

Please note: If both you and your spouse 
work for the State of Texas and enroll in 
separate GBP health plans, each of you will 

have a separate total out-of-pocket maximum and, if 
applicable to your plan, a separate annual deductible. 
Consider enrolling your dependents in coverage under 
the member who is more likely to meet the total out-of-
pocket maximum and/or, if applicable, the deductible. 
For more information on out-of-pocket maximums and 
deductibles, see pages 11 and 41–44.

Verifying all dependents enrolled 
in health insurance
Once ERS processes your dependents’ enrollment in health 
coverage, third-party administrator Alight Solutions will 
contact you. ERS works with Alight Solutions to verify your 
dependents are eligible to participate in GBP plans.

Alight Solutions will mail you a letter that outlines the steps in 
the dependent verification process. The letter will list the names 
of the dependents to be verified, the documents needed to 
verify them and your deadline for sending in those documents.

Important: If you get a letter from Alight Solutions, open it 
right away! Be sure to carefully review all the information and 
keep the deadline in mind. If you don’t send the right documents 
or you send documents after the deadline, your dependents 
may be found ineligible and dropped from all coverage. Your 
next chance to enroll dependents will be during Summer 
Enrollment. You should get your Summer Enrollment guide in 
your mailbox in June or July.

If you have questions about verifying your dependents, call 
Alight Solutions toll-free at (866) 416-4091 (TTY: 711).

EXAMPLE: Your spouse can now provide health insurance for your child. You will have 31 days to drop your child from your plan.

EXCEPTION: If your child loses Medicaid or CHIP eligibility, you will have 60 days to enroll them for GBP health coverage.

https://ers.texas.gov/New-Employee/Insurance-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/New-Employee/Insurance-Eligibility
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Dependent of the Participant  
(employee, retiree or other individual 

enrolled in the GBP program as 
recognized by Texas law)

Eligibility Examples of Supporting Documents 
(these documents are required)

Spouse Spouse as recognized by law

•	Government-issued marriage certificate
AND
•	One of the following: 

–	 Current federal tax return or
–	 Proof of joint ownership** issued within last six months or
–	 Government-issued marriage certificate only (if married in the 

last 12 months)

Common Law Spouse Spouse as recognized by law

•	Declaration of informal marriage filed with the appropriate 
government agency 

AND
•	One of the following:

–	 Current federal tax return or
–	 Proof of joint ownership** issued within last six months

Biological Child* Natural-born child •	Government-issued birth certificate (see note above)

Adopted Child* Child is eligible at time of placement.

•	One of the following: 
–	 Adoption certificate or
–	 Adoption placement agreement or 
–	 Petition for adoption

Note: Adoption documentation must state that the child has been 
placed with the member and include the date of the placement.

Stepchild* Child is not required to live in participant’s household.

•		One of the following:
–	 Government-issued marriage certificate or
–	 Declaration of informal marriage filed with the appropriate 

government agency 
AND
•		Child’s government-issued birth certificate 
AND
•		One of the following:

–	 Current federal tax return or
–	 Proof of joint ownership** issued within last six months

Child of Managing Conservator* Child is identified in the managing conservatorship granted 
to the participant. •	Managing conservatorship court document signed by judge

Foster Child* Child must not have other governmental insurance.
•	Placement order 
AND
•	Affidavit of foster child

Legal Ward Child* Child is under the protection or in the custody of the 
participant.

•		Court order signed by a judge appointing participant as the child’s 
guardian (documentation of legal custody)

AND
•		Government-issued birth certificate

Other Child*

Child is related to participant by blood or marriage, was 
claimed as dependent on participant’s federal income 
tax return for previous tax year, and will continue to be 
claimed on participant’s federal income tax return for every 
calendar year the child is covered.
A child who is acquired or born in the current calendar 
year will be claimed and continue to be claimed
on participant’s federal income tax return for every 
calendar year the child is covered.

•		One of the following:
–	 Government-issued birth certificate (see note above) or
–	 Government-issued marriage license to prove family relationship 

AND
•		One of the following:

–	 Current federal tax return or
–	 Affidavit of good cause

*Child must be under age 26 for health insurance, and can be married or unmarried. Child must be under age 26 and unmarried for dental insurance,  
State of Texas Vision and Dependent Term Life Insurance. Disabled dependent children age 26 and over may be eligible for insurance. For more information,  
visit https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes/Children/Disabled-Dependent-Child.
**See Alight Solutions’ Documentation Requirements for examples of Joint Ownership documents.

Dependent eligibility chart
Make sure your dependents are eligible for insurance and you have the appropriate documentation to show eligibility before you 
enroll them in any coverage. If you are unable to provide the documents listed below, please contact Alight Solutions Customer 
Service toll-free at (866) 416-4091 (TTY: 711). Find more details at https://ers.texas.gov/new-employee/dependent-eligibility-
verification. False information can lead to removal from ERS insurance and/or criminal prosecution.

Note: You must provide a birth certificate to enroll a child. Alight Solutions will accept a hospital-issued birth certificate for a child 
age three months or younger.

https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Life-Changes/Children/Disabled-Dependent-Child
https://ers.texas.gov/new-employee/dependent-eligibility-verification
https://ers.texas.gov/new-employee/dependent-eligibility-verification
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First day of employment
Coverage for your optional benefits—dental, vision, optional life insurance elections 1  
and 2, dependent life, Voluntary AD&D, TIPP disability insurance and/or a TexFlex 
dependent care FSA—could begin right away if you enroll on your first day.

First of the month following your date of hire
If you don’t enroll in the optional benefits above on your first day, but within 31 days 
of your hire date, coverage begins on the first day of the month after you added the 
coverage.

Note: For optional life insurance elections 3 and 4, coverage begins the first of the 
month after you are approved through EOI. Learn more about EOI on page 27.

First of the month after 60 days of employment
Health insurance coverage, prescription drug coverage and, if you elect it, a TexFlex 
health care or limited-purpose FSA become active on the first day of the month 
following your 60th day of employment. If your 60th day of employment falls on the first 
of the month, coverage begins on that day. 

For example, if you are hired on March 2, your 60th day will be May 1. Your health 
coverage, prescription drug coverage and/or TexFlex health care or limited-purpose 
FSA become active on May 1—you don’t have to wait until June 1. If your hire date falls 
later in the month, your coverage begins the first day of the month after your 60th day 
of employment. For example, if you are hired on March 23, your coverage will begin on 
June 1.

This waiting period does not apply to your medical coverage, prescription drug 
coverage and TexFlex health care or limited-purpose FSA if you:

•	 transferred from one GBP agency or higher education institution that participates 
in the Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP) to another GBP agency or 
institution without a break in GBP health coverage,

•	 transferred from the University of Texas or Texas A&M University system without a 
break in health coverage,

•	 are a return-to-work retiree enrolled in GBP health coverage as a retiree,

•	 are enrolled in GBP health coverage as a dependent on the date of hire or rehire,

•	 are enrolled in GBP health coverage in accordance with the Consolidated Omnibus 
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA) on the date of hire or rehire, or

•	 were rehired on or after Sept. 1, 2015 and returned to employment at the same state 
agency within 90 days of leaving active military duty.

If you are in one of the categories above, please notify your HR department within 31 
days to start receiving your health benefits. For those starting mid-month, coverage 
under your new employer begins the first of the next month.

If you do not have a waiting period, you will have 31 days to make health coverage 
changes. Those changes will begin the first day of the next month. However, if you 
transferred as an employee from one GBP entity to another with no break in service, 
start your job on the first day of the month and change your health coverage that day, 
the change takes place immediately.

When do my insurance benefits start? 

Return-to-work 
retirees
If you are a return-to-work 
retiree, you can switch 
between retiree and active 
benefits by contacting your 
agency’s benefits coordinator 
or human resources 
department. If you are a 
Health and Human Services 
Enterprise employee, please 
contact the HHS Enterprise 
Employee Service Center.

Dependent care 
FSA enrollment 
and funds

If you enroll in a 
dependent care FSA 
on your hire date, 

your enrollment begins on 
that day. If you don’t enroll 
on your first day, but within 
31 days of your hire date or 
because of a qualifying life 
event, your enrollment begins 
on the first of the following 
month. If you enroll because 
of a qualifying life event, your 
coverage begins the first of 
the following month. Funds 
won't be available in your 
dependent care FSA until they 
are deposited from your first 
paycheck after you enrolled. 
For example, if you adopt a 
child on Oct. 4 and enroll in 
a dependent care account, 
your enrollment would begin 
on Nov. 1. Your November 
contribution will be deducted 
from your December paycheck 
and be available for use 
once it is deposited into your 
account.
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What is the GBP?
Employees of State of Texas agencies and many higher education institutions can participate in the Texas 
Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP). Created by the Texas Legislature in 1991, the GBP offers insurance 
and related benefits that help State of Texas employees and their families live healthy, financially secure lives.

You are a member of the GBP while you’re employed at:
•	 a state agency,

•	 a Texas public institution of higher education that is not part of The University of Texas or Texas A&M University systems,

•	 the Community Supervision and Corrections Department (CSCD),

•	 the Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS),

•	 the Windham School District,

•	 the Texas Municipal Retirement System (TMRS) or

•	 the Texas County and District Retirement System (TCDRS).

Set up an ERS OnLine account 
With an ERS OnLine account, you can check your coverage, update contact information and do other benefits-related 
activities at any time of the day or night, without having to call or visit ERS. Follow these steps to set up an account:

1.	 Go to https://www.ers.texas.gov/account-login.

2.	 Click on Register Now.

3.	 Enter your information and create a username and password.

Because you are a new employee, your benefits coordinator will likely enroll you and your dependents in the coverage you 
choose. You will be able to update your elections on your own during the next Summer Enrollment period with your ERS 
OnLine account.

Don’t forget to update your ERS OnLine account if you move or have other life changes. Sign up for ERS news and updates at 
https://www.ers.texas.gov/subscribe.

You are also eligible for discounts on a variety of products and services offered 
through the Discount Purchase Program, administered by Beneplace. There are 
no fees or membership requirements. Visit https://ers.texas.gov/Discount-
Purchase-Program for more information.

https://www.ers.texas.gov/account-login
https://www.ers.texas.gov/subscribe
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HealthSelect of Texas Consumer Directed HealthSelect

Key advantages

•	 Lower out-of-pocket costs for in-network care
•	 Copays for certain in-network services, like 

primary care provider (PCP) office visits 
•	 Large statewide network, and large 

nationwide network for those who live or work 
outside Texas

•	 For eligible participants, tax-advantaged 
health savings account (HSA), with monthly 
contributions from the state

•	 Large statewide and nationwide networks
•	 Referrals not required
•	 Lower monthly premium than HealthSelect 

of Texas for dependents and part-time 
employees

In-network preventive 
care covered at 100% Yes Yes

Prescription drug 
coverage Yes Yes

Key downside(s)

•	 Referrals needed for most specialty care
•	 Monthly premiums for dependents and part-

time employees are higher than Consumer 
Directed HealthSelect

•	 Except for specific preventive services,  
the plan pays nothing until the deductible 
is met

•	 Must meet IRS’ eligibility guidelines to 
participate in the HSA

Might be good for people 
who…

•	 Want to keep their out-of-pocket costs low
•	 Don’t mind getting referrals for specialty care
•	 Are willing to pay higher dependent or part-

time employee premiums

•	 Usually have low (or very high) health 
expenses

•	 Can afford to pay for medical and pharmacy 
expenses out-of-pocket until deductible is 
met

•	 Want the state’s tax-free HSA contribution
•	 Don’t want to get referrals for specialty care

Choosing the right health insurance for you and your 
family is an important decision. You have a responsibility to 
understand how the benefits you choose could affect your 
family’s health and finances.

As a State of Texas agency employee, you can choose 
HealthSelect of Texas or Consumer Directed HealthSelect.

Both health plans are network-based. This means you’ll save 
money—sometimes a lot of money—if you go to doctors and 
other providers in the plan’s network. The two HealthSelect 
plans have a large network of primary care providers (PCPs), 
specialists, mental health professionals, hospitals and other 
providers across Texas.

Both plans require cost-sharing. You and the State of Texas, as 
your employer, both pay for coverage and care. The state pays 

100% of the monthly premium for eligible full-time employees 
and 50% of the premium for their eligible dependents. The state 
pays 50% of the premium for eligible part-time employees and 
25% of the premium for their eligible dependents.

You may also pay out of pocket for some of your care—
through copays, coinsurance, deductibles for prescriptions, 
and in some cases, deductibles for medical care. How much 
you pay out of pocket depends on the plan you choose and, 
once you’re enrolled, the providers you see.

Which plan is best for you and your family? The table below 
shows key features of each plan. You can also use the 
decision tool at healthselect.bcbstx.com/medical-benefits/
healthselect-plans. Part-time and dependent premium 
information is on page 37.

Understand your health plan options
Health Insurance

http://healthselect.bcbstx.com/medical-benefits/healthselect-plans
http://healthselect.bcbstx.com/medical-benefits/healthselect-plans
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HealthSelect of Texas and  
Consumer Directed HealthSelect
You can choose between HealthSelect of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect. With both plans, you have access to 
a large network of medical and mental health providers in Texas. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas (BCBSTX) manages 
the provider network, processes claims and provides customer service. Both plans include a comprehensive prescription 
drug program.

Key features of HealthSelect of Texas:
•	 You do not have to meet an annual medical deductible if you use providers in the 

HealthSelect network. If you get care outside the network, you will have to meet a 
$500 annual deductible per person, with a maximum annual deductible of $1,500 
per family.

•	 You have prescription drug coverage, which includes a $50 per person deductible 
before the plan begins to pay for prescription drugs. This deductible resets at the 
beginning of each calendar year from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31. (The plan year for health 
benefits and premiums follows the state’s fiscal year calendar from Sept. 1 through 
Aug. 31) See page 14 for more information about the HealthSelectSM Prescription 
Drug Program.

•	 You are responsible for copays and/or coinsurance for doctor and hospital visits 
and other medical services, such as outpatient surgery and high-tech radiology.

•	 You need to choose a primary care provider (PCP) on file with BCBSTX and get 
referrals from your PCP to see some in-network specialists. After the first 60 days 
in the plan, if you do not choose a PCP, you will have out-of-network coverage 
until you choose one, even if you see in-network providers. A PCP helps keep your 
costs as low as possible, while ensuring you get the care you need. 

•	 If you do not have a referral from your PCP on file with BCBSTX before you get 
treatment from some specialists, you could pay more for your treatment, even if 
the specialist is in the HealthSelect network.

You do not need a referral for:
•	 Eye exams (both routine and 

diagnostic)

•	 OB-GYN visits

•	 Mental health services

•	 Chiropractic visits

•	 Occupational therapy, speech 
therapy and physical therapy

•	 Virtual Visits through Doctor 
on Demand® or MDLIVE® for 
medical or mental health care

–	Virtual Visits for medical 
and mental health care 
are covered at no cost 
for HealthSelect of Texas 
participants.

•	 Urgent care centers and 
convenience care clinics

Please note:
•	 You must select a primary care provider (PCP) if you enroll in HealthSelect of Texas. If you don’t choose a PCP, you 

may end up paying more—possibly a lot more—for services.

•	 If you are in HealthSelect of Texas and need to see a specialist (that is, someone other than your PCP), you will need a 
referral from your PCP on file with BCBSTX to see a specialist and receive in-network benefits.

•	 You do not need to designate a PCP or get referrals to specialists if you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, or if 
you enroll in HealthSelect of Texas and your address on file with ERS is outside Texas.
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When Eileen Eiden joined Austin Community College in 2014, an HDHP wasn’t among 
her health plan options. “I was surprised, and I kept asking when ERS would offer a high-
deductible plan,” Eiden recalled.

Two years later, when ERS began offering Consumer Directed HealthSelect, Eiden promptly 
signed up and found this HDHP with a health savings account (HSA) to be a good fit for her.

An HDHP “is perfect for healthy adults, especially if you see a doctor only once a year. Your in-network preventive 
care is fully covered, with no copay or coinsurance,” Eiden explained. Then, there is the HSA. “It’s like a 401(k), but 
for health.”

The State of Texas contributes money to the HSA every month, if a Consumer Directed HealthSelect member opens 
an HSA with Optum Bank. Plus, GBP members can contribute their own pre-tax money. HSA funds are tax-free when 
spent on eligible health care expenses (even in retirement).

And, if you leave your job or retire, the money in your account—even the portion contributed by the state—is yours to 
keep. In time, the funds in an HSA can accumulate with contributions, earned interest and investment earnings. None 
of this growth is taxed when spent on eligible health care expenses.

Eiden acknowledged that plans like Consumer Directed HealthSelect might be risky for people who don’t have enough 
cash to cover the plan’s annual high deductible, which includes both covered pharmacy and medical costs. After 
they meet the deductible, the GBP member pays 20% coinsurance (not copays) for in-network health care services 
and prescription drugs. If you haven’t saved enough in your HSA to meet the deductible, you could be faced with a 
financial challenge.

“What scared me the most was the possibility that I wouldn’t be able to pay for my medical care,” Eiden stated. “Once 
I started adding money to my HSA, that was no longer an issue.”

Consumer Directed HealthSelect is a high-deductible health plan (HDHP) paired with 
a tax-free health savings account (HSA). The high deductible means you could have 
higher out-of-pocket costs before your health plan begins to pay for non-preventive 
medical services and prescription drugs. The plan covers 100% for in-network 
preventive services. It is available to GBP participants who are not enrolled in any 
part of Medicare.

•	 You do not need to designate a PCP or get referrals to 
specialists.

•	 The monthly dependent/part-time premium is lower than 
HealthSelect of Texas, but you pay the full cost of doctor 
visits, prescriptions, hospital stays and any other non-
preventive health services or products until your annual 
deductible is met.

•	 You get a monthly health savings account (HSA) 
contribution from the state to help pay for eligible medical 
costs. (See information on HSAs on page 12.)

•	 After you meet the deductible, you pay coinsurance (20% 
in-network, 40% out-of-network) for medical services and 
prescriptions, rather than a copay.

•	 You have prescription drug coverage. (See pages 14 and 
20 for more information about the Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect Prescription Drug Program.)

•	 Your deductible and total out-of-pocket maximums for 
individual and family coverage reset on Jan. 1. (The plan 
year for premiums and health benefits follows the state’s 
fiscal year calendar – September through August.)

For more information on Consumer Directed HealthSelect, see 
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/
FAQs/High-Deductible-Health-Plan.

Consumer Directed HealthSelect annual deductibles
For Calendar Years 2024 and 2025 (includes prescription drugs)

In-network Out-of-network
Individual $2,100 $4,200
Family $4,200 $8,400

Key features of Consumer Directed HealthSelect:

Eileen Eiden
Understanding the HDHP with HSA

https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/High-Deductible-Health-Plan
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/High-Deductible-Health-Plan
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Health savings account (HSA)
Available only with Consumer Directed HealthSelect
•	 An HSA allows you to set money aside, tax free, and use the funds 

to pay for eligible out-of-pocket health expenses anytime, even in 
retirement. (Once you reach age 65, you can even use your HSA for 
non-health expenses, but you’ll pay taxes on any funds spent on non- 
health costs.)

•	 You can use your HSA funds, tax free, for qualified medical expenses 
for yourself, your spouse and eligible dependents—even if they’re not 
covered under your health insurance. 

•	 The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) defines qualified medical expenses. 
Visit optumbank.com/resources/medical-expenses.html for more 
information.

•	 To help cover your out-of-pocket health costs, the state makes a monthly 
contribution to the HSA of every eligible GBP member enrolled in 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect. You are not eligible to make or receive 
any contributions to an HSA if you are enrolled in Medicare or in certain 
other cases. (To learn more about HSA eligibility, visit https://www.
optumbank.com/all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html) Contributions—
both from the state and, optionally, a GBP member’s paycheck—are 
usually available in the HSA by the middle of the next month. 

•	 You can make pre-tax contributions to your HSA through payroll 
deductions. The IRS sets the maximum contribution amount each year. 
See the table below for maximum contributions.

•	 You can also make a contribution (or contributions) directly to your HSA. 
They would be after-tax contributions that you could claim when you file 
your tax return for the year.

•	 Member HSA contributions are voluntary. You do not have to contribute if 
you don’t want to.

•	 All the money in your HSA carries over from one year to the next—there 
is no use-it-or-lose-it rule—and you can keep the funds if you change 
health plans or even leave state employment.

Contribute for  
TRIPLE TAX SAVINGS

1.	 Contribute money into the 
account tax free.

2.	 Pay for qualified medical 
expenses tax free.

3.	 Earn interest or investment 
growth on the account tax free.

For more information about 
HSAs, see https://ers.texas.
gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-
Resources/FAQs/Consumer-
Directed-HealthSelect- Health-
Savings-Account.

Contribution Individual Account Family Account*

Calendar Year 2024 annual total maximum contribution  
(Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2024)

Up to age 54: $4,150

Age 55 and older: $5,150
$8,300

Calendar Year 2025 annual total maximum contribution  
(Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2025)

Up to age 54: $4,300

Age 55 and older: $5,300
$8,550

Fiscal Year 2025 annual state contribution 
(Sept. 1, 2024 – Aug. 31, 2025)

$540  
($45 monthly)

$1,080  
($90 monthly)

HSA contributions and maximums*

*A family account includes the GBP participant plus any number of dependents enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect.

Note: HSA contributions and limits may change from year to year. They may also change based on eligibility requirements and the participant’s age. Maximums 
are set by the IRS and include both pre-tax and post-tax contributions to an HSA. Contributions are based on the calendar year, and maximums reset Jan. 1.

http://optumbank.com/resources/medical-expenses.html
https://www.optumbank.com/all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html
https://www.optumbank.com/all-products/hsa/hsa-eligibility.html
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/Consumer-Directed-HealthSelect-Health-Savings-Account
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/Consumer-Directed-HealthSelect-Health-Savings-Account
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/Consumer-Directed-HealthSelect-Health-Savings-Account
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/Consumer-Directed-HealthSelect-Health-Savings-Account
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/FAQs/Consumer-Directed-HealthSelect-Health-Savings-Account
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Open your HSA
Enrolling in Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect? Open your HSA  
as soon as possible. 

If you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, open 
your HSA as soon as possible, so the state’s monthly 
contributions and any other funds can be deposited 
into your account. Optum Bank manages the ERS HSA 
program. Even if you don’t plan to make your own pre-tax 
contributions, you must open an Optum Bank HSA to get 
the state’s contributions. You can go to optumbank.com/
texasers to open an account. Or to get an application 
mailed to you, call Optum Bank toll-free at (866) 234-8913.

Like state paychecks, state HSA deposits are paid in 
arrears—that is, at the end of each month worked—so the 
state’s HSA funds may be deposited in your account some 
time after the 15th of the month following the month worked. 
For example, if you elect Consumer Directed HealthSelect 
during Summer Enrollment and open your HSA by early 
September, the first state deposit into the account will 
typically occur two or three weeks after you get your your 
Oct. 1 paycheck.

If you want to contribute to your HSA via payroll deduction, 
you must elect your payroll deductions through your ERS 
OnLine account—or your agency’s benefits coordinator can 
do it for you. (You don’t to have to contribute to your HSA 
with payroll deductions, but it’s a convenient and consistent 
way to make pre-tax contributions.) You can change your 
contributions any time during the year, as long as your 
and the state’s total contributions don’t exceed the IRS’ 
contribution maximum for the calendar year.

Once you open your HSA, Optum Bank will send you a 
debit card to pay for eligible health expenses. You will have 
access only to the amount of money that has accumulated 
in your HSA, not any funds that are pledged to be deposited 
in the future.

Please note!
You can opt out of health 
insurance coverage—and  
get credit.

If you can certify that you already have health 
insurance that is equal to or better than that 
offered through ERS, you can sign up for a 
monthly health insurance Opt-Out Credit of up 
to $60 for full-time employees and $30 for part- 
time employees.

•	 The credit helps pay your dental, vision 
and/or Voluntary Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment insurance premiums.  
Note: No portion of the Opt-Out Credit will be 
refunded if the full Opt-Out Credit is not used 
for dental, vision and/or AD&D premiums.

•	 The credit is not available if your only other 
insurance is Medicare, you have health 
insurance coverage through ERS as a 
dependent or you get a state contribution for 
other insurance coverage.

Important: If you opt out of an ERS health plan, 
you give up your prescription drug coverage 
and will no longer have $5,000 Basic Term Life 
Insurance and $5,000 AD&D coverage.

If you opt out of or waive ERS health coverage 
and later lose your other coverage, you can 
enroll in one of the health insurance plans 
offered through ERS. Losing coverage is a 
qualifying life event, and you will have 31 days 
after losing your other plan to enroll in an ERS 
health plan.

Lower your health care costs with HealthSelectShoppERSSM

HealthSelect of Texas, HealthSelectSM Out-of-State and Consumer Directed HealthSelect participants 
can lower their health care costs and earn incentives with HealthSelectShoppERS. Shopping for 
lower-cost options for care can save you money on certain medical services or procedures and reward 
you with contributions to your TexFlex health care or limited-purpose flexible spending account (FSA). 
See page 42 or visit healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/healthselectshoppers to 
learn more.

http://optumbank.com/texasers
http://optumbank.com/texasers
http://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/healthselectshoppers
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Out-of-pocket limits on health expenses
To help protect you from extremely high health costs, the HealthSelect plans have in-network out-of-pocket maximums. This is 
the maximum amount you or your family will pay in one year for in-network copays, coinsurance and deductibles for covered 
medical and prescription drugs. If you reach this maximum, the plan will pay 100% of covered in-network health and pharmacy 
expenses for the rest of the year. (There is no out-of-pocket maximum for out-of-network services.)

The out-of-pocket maximums reset every calendar year (on Jan. 1).

In-network out-of-pocket maximums (all plans)

Calendar Year 2024 
(Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, 2024)

$7,500 individual 
$15,000 family (GBP member + one or more covered family member)

Calendar Year 2025 
(Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, 2025)

$8,050 individual 
$16,100 family (GBP member + one or more covered family member)

Your HealthSelect insurance plan includes coverage for prescription drugs. Express 
Scripts Inc. administers the HealthSelect Prescription Drug Program for both HealthSelect 
of Texas and Consumer Directed HealthSelect. You will get separate ID cards from 
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas (for medical coverage) and Express Scripts (for 
prescription drug coverage). You may need to present your HealthSelect Prescription Drug 
Program ID card when filling a prescription.

Under the HealthSelect Prescription Drug Program, prescription drugs fall into three categories, called tiers, with different 
costs for each tier.

•	 Tier 1 prescriptions are usually inexpensive medications, such as generic drugs.

•	 Tier 2 prescriptions are usually lower-cost preferred brand-name drugs.

•	 Tier 3 prescriptions are non-preferred brand-name drugs with a higher cost.

Prescription drug coverage

To find out which pharmacies you can use under your plan, 
visit www.HealthSelectRx.com.

https://www.optumrx.com/oe_ers/landing
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You must certify yourself and any covered dependents as 
tobacco users or non-users if you enroll in a GBP health 
insurance plan. Certified tobacco users pay a higher 
premium for their health coverage.

ERS’ tobacco policy defines tobacco products as all types of 
tobacco, including but not limited to cigarettes, cigars, pipe 
tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff and dip; and all electronic 
cigarettes and vaping products. Vaping products that do not 
contain tobacco or nicotine are also considered tobacco 
products.

A tobacco user is a person who has used any tobacco 
product, as defined above, five or more times within the past 
three consecutive months.

If you or a covered dependent uses tobacco products, you 
are required to certify yourself or your dependents as a 
tobacco user and pay the monthly tobacco user premium.

Note: You need to certify your status only once, unless your 
status changes. You can update your tobacco-use status 
through your ERS OnLine account, by phone or by returning 
the online Tobacco Use Certification form to ERS.

 

Ready to quit?
All HealthSelectSM plans cover programs and prescription 
drugs that will help tobacco users quit. If a participant 
remains tobacco-free for three consecutive months, they can 
re-certify as a tobacco non-user and will no longer have to 
pay the higher premiums.

Tobacco user premium alternative
If you are a tobacco user, you may qualify for an alternative 
to the tobacco user premium, if it complies with your doctor’s 
recommendations. For more information, see the ERS 
tobacco policy on ERS website at https://ers.texas.gov/
About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification or 
contact ERS toll-free at (877) 275-4377.

Improve your health and lifestyle!
The tobacco cessation program is only one of the programs 
and tools your state benefits package offers to help you get 
healthier. Visit the HealthSelect website to find out more 
about the tobacco cessation and other wellness programs 
available to you.

You must certify your status—whether you use tobacco or not

If you or one of your covered family members uses tobacco products and you certify them as a non-
user, or if you fail to update the tobacco-use status when you or a covered family member starts 
using tobacco products, you could lose your GBP health insurance coverage.

https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
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Employees and retirees not eligible for Medicare – Effective Sept. 1, 2024
Health plans comparison chart 
These charts show your share of costs for commonly used medical, mental health, prescription drug and diabetes supply benefits in 
the HealthSelect of Texas® and Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM plans. For in-depth information about eligibility, services that are 
covered and not covered, and how benefits are paid, view the Master Benefit Plan Documents (MBPDs) on your plan’s website. If 
there is a conflict between the MBPD, MBPD Amendments and this chart, the MBPD and its Amendments will control.
Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas (BCBSTX) administers medical and mental health benefits in both plans. Mental health benefits 
apply to all covered mental/behavioral/substance use disorder services (including serious mental illness treatment, substance use disorder 
treatment, autism spectrum disorder services etc.). Express Scripts manages prescription drug benefits for the plans. As administrators, 
they process claims and oversee the provider networks and drug formularies. ERS designs the benefits and pays the claims.

HealthSelect of Texas® 
and HealthSelectSM  

Out-of-State
In-Network

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect  

Out-of-State 
Out-of-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM  

High-deductible  
Health Plan
In-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect  

High-deductible  
Health Plan 

 Out-of-Network
Administrator Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas (BCBSTX)

Annual deductible None $500 per individual
$1,500 per family

$2,100 per individual,  
$4,200 per family 
Medical and prescription 
drug expenses apply to the 
deductible. 
To help cover part of the 
deductible, the State contributes 
to an eligible participant’s health 
savings account: 
$540/year for an individual, 
$1,080/year for a family

$4,200 per individual,  
$8,400 per family 
Medical and prescription drug 
expenses apply to the deductible.
To help cover part of the 
deductible, the State contributes 
to an eligible participant’s health 
savings account: 
$540/year for an individual, 
$1,080/year for a family

Out-of-network benefits? Yes. See next page for details. Yes. See next page for details.
Balance billing?  
(Balance billing is when 
an out-of-network provider 
charges you the difference 
between their billed 
charges and the plan’s 
allowed amount.)

Yes. Balance billing may 
apply to certain out-of-network 
services. For more information, 
see the plan’s Master Benefit 
Plan Document.

Yes. Balance billing may apply to 
certain out-of-network services. 
For more information, see the 
plan’s Master Benefit Plan 
Document.

Total in-network  
out-of-pocket maximum 
(including deductibles, 
coinsurance and copays)1

Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2024:  
$7,500 per person;  
$15,000 per family  
Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2025:  
$8,050 per person;  
$16,100 per family

Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2024:  
$7,500 per person;  
$15,000 per family  
Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2025:  
$8,050 per person;  
$16,100 per family

Out-of-pocket coinsurance 
maximum $2,000 per person $7,000 per person None None

Inpatient copay 
maximum

$750 copay max, up to 5 days per hospital stay
$2,250 copay max per calendar year per person None None

Primary care provider 
(PCP) required?

Participants who live and  
work in Texas: Yes
Out-of-state participants: No

No No No

Referrals required?
Participants who live and  
work in Texas: Yes
Out-of-state participants: No

No No No

1Includes medical and prescription drug copays, coinsurance and deductibles. Excludes out-of-network and bariatric services.
All Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP) benefits could change without notice. The Texas Legislature decides the level of funding for such benefits and 
has no continuing obligation to provide those benefits beyond each fiscal year.
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Medical and Mental Health Benefits

Service

HealthSelect of Texas® 
and HealthSelectSM  

Out-of-State
In-Network

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect  

Out-of-State 
Out-of-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM  

High-deductible  
Health Plan
In-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect  

High-deductible  
Health Plan 

 Out-of-Network

Allergy treatment
Covered at 100% if 
administered in a physician’s 
office; 20% coinsurance in any 
other outpatient location

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Applied Behavioral 
Analysis (ABA) 
treatment*

Coverage is based on place of 
treatment.
•	$25 copay if administered in a 

mental health provider’s office
•	20% coinsurance for any other 

outpatient location, including the 
home

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Ambulance services 
(for emergencies) 20% coinsurance 20% coinsurance; annual 

deductible does not apply
20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

20% coinsurance after annual 
in-network deductible is met

Bariatric surgery*
Additional eligibility 
requirements apply. See 
the MBPD for details.

•	Deductible: $5,000
•	Coinsurance: 20%
•	Lifetime max: $13,000

Not covered Not covered Not covered

Chiropractic care

•	Without office visit: 20% 
coinsurance

•	With office visit: $40 copay 
plus 20% coinsurance 

•	Maximum benefits of $75 per 
visit and maximum of 30 visits 
per calendar year

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met. Maximum 
benefits of $75 per visit and 
maximum of 30 visits per 
calendar year

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met. Maximum 
benefits of $75 per visit and 
maximum of 30 visits per 
calendar year

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met. Maximum 
benefits of $75 per visit and 
maximum of 30 visits per 
calendar year

Cranial hair prosthetics 
(wigs)

20% coinsurance; limited to lifetime benefit max of $1,000. Out-of-
network deductible does not apply. 

20% coinsurance after annual deductible is met; limited to lifetime 
benefit max of $1,000.

Diagnostic A1c testing 
(for participants diagnosed 
with diabetes)

20% coinsurance; see page 6 
for details

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met; see page 6 
for details

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met; see page 6 
for details

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met; see page 6 
for details

Diabetes  
equipment

20% coinsurance;  
see page 6 for details.

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met; see page 6 
for details.

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met; see page 6 
for details. 

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met; see page 6 
for details.

Diabetes supplies See page 6 for details.
Diagnostic X-rays and 
lab tests 20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after annual 

deductible is met
20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Diagnostic 
mammography Covered at 100% 40% coinsurance after annual 

deductible is met Covered at 100% 40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Durable medical 
equipment 20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after annual 

deductible is met
20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Facility-based 
providers (radiologists, 
pathologists and labs, 
anesthesiologists, 
emergency room 
physicians, etc.)

20% coinsurance

Emergencies: 20% coinsurance; 
annual deductible does not 
apply.
Non-emergencies: 40% 
coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met
(Network benefits apply to 
services rendered by an out-of-
network provider in a network 
facility.)

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Emergencies: 20% coinsurance 
after annual in-network 
deductible is met.
Non-emergencies: 40% 
coinsurance after annual out-of-
network deductible is met.
(Network benefits apply to 
services rendered by an out-of-
network provider in a network 
facility.)

Facility emergency 
care (non-FSER) 
and hospital-affiliated 
freestanding emergency 
departments

$150 copay plus 20% 
coinsurance
(If admitted, copay will apply to 
hospital copay.)

Emergencies: $150 copay plus 
20% coinsurance (If admitted, 
copay will apply to hospital copay.) 
Annual deductible does not apply.
Non-emergencies: $150 copay 
plus 40% coinsurance after 
annual out-of-network deductible 
is met.

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Emergencies: 20% coinsurance 
after annual in-network 
deductible is met.
Non-emergencies: 40% 
coinsurance after annual out-of-
network deductible is met.

*It is recommended your provider submit a request to BCBSTX to confirm coverage, limitations and medical necessity prior to rendering services.
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Service

HealthSelect of Texas® 
and HealthSelectSM  

Out-of-State
In-Network

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect  

Out-of-State 
Out-of-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM  

High-deductible  
Health Plan
In-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect  

High-deductible  
Health Plan 

 Out-of-Network

Freestanding 
emergency room 
facility

$150 copay plus  
20% coinsurance

Emergencies: $300 copay 
plus 20% coinsurance; annual 
deductible does not apply.
Non-emergencies: $300 copay 
plus 40% coinsurance after annual 
out-of-network deductible is met.

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Emergencies: 20% coinsurance 
after annual in-network 
deductible is met.
Non-emergencies: 40% 
coinsurance after annual out-of-
network deductible is met.

Habilitation and 
rehabilitation services 
- outpatient therapy 
(including physical therapy, 
occupational therapy and 
speech therapy)

20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Hearing aids (for covered 
participants over age 18)

Plan pays up to $1,000 per ear for any consecutive 36-month 
period and $1 per battery. In-network and out-of-network hearing 
aids are covered at the same benefit level.

Plan pays up to $1,000 per ear every three years after deductible 
is met.

Hearing aids (for 
participants 18 years of 
age and younger)

Plan pays 100%; limit of one hearing aid per ear for any consecutive 
36-month period and $1 per battery (In-network and out-of-network 
hearing aids are covered at the same benefit level.)

20% coinsurance after annual in-network deductible is met  
(In-network and out-of-network hearing aids are covered at the 
same benefit level.)

High-tech radiology (CT 
scan, MRI and nuclear 
medicine)*

$100 copay plus  
20% coinsurance

$100 copay plus  
40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Home health care* 20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Inpatient* and 
outpatient hospice and 
rehabilitation

20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Inpatient hospital 
facility, including for 
mental health treatment 
(semi-private room 
and day’s board, and 
intensive care unit)*

•	$150/day copay plus 20% 
coinsurance

•	$750 copay max, up to 5 days 
per hospital stay

•	$2,250 copay max per calendar 
year per person

•	$150/day copay plus 40% 
coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met.

•	$750 copay max, up to 5 days 
per hospital stay

•	$2,250 copay max per calendar 
year per person

20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Maternity care doctor 
charges only; inpatient 
hospital copays will 
apply

$25 or $40 for first prenatal 
visit; no copay for subsequent 
routine prenatal or postnatal 
appointments

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

No cost for subsequent	
routine prenatal and postnatal 
appointments after annual 
deductible is met and 20% 
coinsurance for initial visit

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Medications and 
injections administered 
by a provider

•	Physician's office: Covered at 
100% after copay (or 100% if 
no charge is assessed for office 
visit)

•	Any other outpatient location: 
20% coinsurance.

•	Preventive vaccines covered at 
100%

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met
Preventive vaccines covered at 
100%

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Mental health outpatient 
facility care (partial 
hospitalization/day 
treatment and extensive 
outpatient treatment)*

20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Office surgery and 
diagnostic procedures 20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after  

annual deductible is met
20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Outpatient physician or 
mental health provider 
office visit

$25 copay 40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

PCP office visit $25 copay 40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

*It is recommended that your provider submit a request to BCBSTX to confirm coverage, limits and medical necessity prior to rendering services.
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Service

HealthSelect of Texas® 
and HealthSelectSM  

Out-of-State
In-Network

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect  

Out-of-State 
Out-of-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM  

High-deductible  
Health Plan
In-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect  

High-deductible  
Health Plan 

 Out-of-Network

Private duty nursing* 20% coinsurance
40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met
Maximum of 96 hours per 
calendar year

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met
Maximum of 96 hours per 
calendar year

Retail health/
convenience care clinic $25 copay 40% coinsurance after  

annual deductible is met
20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Routine eye exam, one 
per year per participant $40 copay 40% coinsurance after  

annual deductible is met
20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Routine preventive care No cost to participant(s) 40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met No cost to participant(s) 40% coinsurance after  

annual deductible is met

Skilled nursing facility/
inpatient rehabilitation 
facility services*

20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Specialist physician 
office visit

$40 copay with valid PCP 
referral on file

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Surgery (outpatient) 
other than in 
physician’s office*

$100 copay plus 20% 
coinsurance

$100 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Telemedicine visit 

Coverage is based on place of 
treatment billed. 
•	Provider’s office: $25/$40 

copay for physician's office visit
•	Any other outpatient 

telemedicine: 20% coinsurance 

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Therapeutic treatments 
- outpatient 20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after  

annual deductible is met
20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Urgent care clinic $50 copay plus 20% coinsurance 40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met

Virtual visits
$0 copay for virtual visits when 
provided by Doctor on Demand® 
or MDLIVE®

Not covered
20% coinsurance after annual 
deductible is met for virtual visits 
when provided by Doctor on 
Demand or MDLIVE

Not covered

*It is recommended that your provider submit a request to BCBSTX to confirm coverage, limits and medical necessity prior to rendering services.
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Prescription Drug Benefits
The cost share you pay for your medication depends on its drug tier, the quantity you purchase (30-, 60- or 90-day supply) 
and whether the prescription is filled at a retail pharmacy (in-network or out-of-network), Extended Day Supply Pharmacy 
(EDS) or mail service pharmacy.

You will pay less for your drugs when you fill your prescription at an in-network pharmacy. The Express Scripts network 
includes thousands of retail locations, including national chains and many community pharmacies. To find an in-network 
pharmacy near you, use the Find a Pharmacy tool at www.HealthSelectRx.com or call an Express Scripts customer care 
representative toll-free at (800) 935-7189 (TTY: 711). 

Non-maintenance medications are those prescribed for temporary use or for short-term conditions. Maintenance medications 
are those taken more regularly for long-term conditions.

HealthSelect of Texas® 
and HealthSelectSM  

Out-of-State 
In-Network

HealthSelect of Texas 
and HealthSelect  

Out-of-State  
Out-of-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM  

High-deductible  
Health Plan 
In-Network

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect  

High-deductible  
Health Plan  

 Out-of-Network
Pharmacy benefits 
manager (PBM) Express Scripts

Out-of-network 
benefits? Yes Yes

Deductible

$50 prescription drug deductible per participant per calendar 
year applies before the plan pays for any prescription drugs 
(except covered preventive medications, specific diabetic 
supplies (as listed on page 6) and insulin dispensed by an in-
network pharmacy).

$2,100 per individual; 
$4,200 per family 
Medical and prescription 
drug expenses apply to the 
deductible.

$4,200 per individual; 
$8,400 per family
Medical and prescription 
drug expenses apply to the 
deductible.

Tier 1 
(mostly generic 
drugs)

Non-maintenance and 
maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $10 copay
Mail order or extended day 
supply pharmacy (90 days' 
supply):  
$30 copay

Non-maintenance and 
maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $10 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance
Mail order or extended day 
supply pharmacy (90 days' 
supply): $30 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance

20% coinsurance after 
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Tier 2  
(mostly preferred 
brand name drugs)*

•	Non-maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $35 copay

•	Maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $45 copay  

•	Mail order or extended day 
supply pharmacy (90 days’ 
supply): $105 copay

•	Non-maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $35 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance

•	Maintenance (30 days’ 
supply):  
$45 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance

•	Mail order or extended day 
supply (90 days’ supply): 
$105 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance 

20% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after  
annual deductible is met

Tier 3  
(mostly non-
preferred brand 
name drugs)*

•	Non-maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $60 copay 

•	Maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $75 copay  

•	Mail order or extended day 
supply pharmacy (90 days’ 
supply): $180 copay

•	Non-maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $60 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance

•	Maintenance (30 days’ 
supply): $75 copay plus 40% 
coinsurance 

•	Mail order or extended day 
supply pharmacy (90 days’ 
supply): $180 copay plus 
40% coinsurance

20% coinsurance after 
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after 
annual deductible is met

Specialty drugs*
If purchased through a pharmacy, specialty drugs are covered 
at the specific tier level (generic, preferred or non-preferred) as 
listed above. Otherwise, they are covered as a medical benefit.

20% coinsurance after 
annual deductible is met

40% coinsurance after 
annual deductible is met

*Prior Authorization may be required. 

https://www.express-scripts.com/HealthSelectPDP
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Diabetes Equipment and Supplies
Other diabetes equipment, supplies, and prescription drugs not listed below may be covered under these plans. For 
more information about your prescription drug benefits or for help finding an in-network pharmacy, contact HealthSelect 
PDP customer care toll-free at (800) 935-7189 (TTY: 711). For more information on your medical plan benefits, contact a 
BCBSTX Personal Health Assistant toll-free at (800) 252-8039 (TTY: 711).

HealthSelect of Texas®  
and  

HealthSelectSM Out-of-State
Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM

Prescription Drug 
Program (PDP) benefits Medical plan benefits Prescription Drug 

Program (PDP) benefits Medical plan benefits

Diabetes 
glucometers 

Certain brands of preferred 
glucometers are covered at 
no cost to participants when 
received through the free 
glucometer program*. For 
more information on the free 
glucometer program, call 
Express Scripts.

Refer to Prescription Drug 
Program (PDP) benefits

Certain brands of preferred 
glucometers are covered at 
no cost to participants when 
received through the free 
glucometer program*. For 
more information on the free 
glucometer program, call 
Express Scripts.

Refer to Prescription Drug 
Program (PDP) benefits

Continuous 
glucose monitors 
/ insulin pumps

Certain brands of continuous 
glucose monitors and related 
supplies

20% coinsurance for in-
network and out-of-network 
covered continuous glucose 
monitors, insulin pumps, 
and related supplies through 
durable medical equipment 
benefits

Certain brands of continuous 
glucose monitors and related 
supplies

20% coinsurance for in-
network and out-of-network 
covered continuous glucose 
monitors and insulin pumps, 
and related supplies after 
annual deductible is met; 
through durable medical 
equipment benefits

Diabetic supplies

Certain brands of preferred 
diabetic test strips* are 
covered at no cost to 
participants when purchased 
from a PDP  
in-network pharmacy. Lancets 
and lancing devices, and 
syringes are covered at no 
cost to participants when 
purchased from a PDP in-
network pharmacy.

Refer to Prescription Drug 
Program (PDP) benefits

20% coinsurance for covered 
diabetic supplies after annual 
in-network deductible is met 
when purchased from a PDP 
in-network pharmacy
40% coinsurance after annual 
out-of-network deductible is 
met when purchased from a 
PDP out-of-network pharmacy

Refer to Prescription Drug 
Program (PDP) benefits

Prescription 
insulin

In-network pharmacy:  
Insulin products on the PDP 
drug list (formulary) are 
covered with a maximum $25 
copay per 30-day supply, 
regardless of tier.
Out-of-network pharmacy:  
Insulin products are covered 
at a Tier 1, Tier 2 or Tier 3 
copay and 40% coinsurance.

Not covered under medical 
plan benefits

In-network pharmacy: 
20% coinsurance (up to $25 
maximum per 30-day supply) 
for insulin products on the 
PDP drug list (formulary)
Out-of-network pharmacy:  
40% coinsurance for insulin 
products after annual out-of- 
network deductible is met

Not covered under medical 
plan benefits

*Benefits and covered brands of glucometers and test strips are subject to change.
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Participants can:
•	 Get support for managing chronic conditions like diabetes, 

heart failure, coronary artery disease (CAD), asthma and 
chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).

•	 Enroll in health coaching programs for physical activity, 
stress, nutrition, weight management and tobacco 
cessation.

•	 Get clinical support making informed choices about 
treatment options or services related to coronary disease, 
chronic back pain, hip or knee replacement, benign 
prostate disease, prostate and breast cancer, benign 
uterine condition, endometriosis and fibroids.

•	 Enroll in one of two online weight management programs, 
Wondr Health and Real Appeal. Both programs feature 
interactive components and user-friendly resources.

Online health and wellness tools
Go to healthselectoftexas.com and click the Log In button 
to go to your personal Blue Access for Members account. 
On Blue Access for Members, you can do any or all of the 
following to help improve or maintain your healthy habits:

•	 Take the online health assessment to identify your 
personal health needs and learn healthy habits. Then take 
your personal health report to your PCP.

•	 Use wellness trackers to help you stay on target with your 
goals. Trackers are available for stress management, 
tobacco usage, nutrition and more.

•	 Sync your fitness device such as a Fitbit or Jawbone and 
see activity minutes, miles traveled and calories burned 
on the dashboard.

•	 Learn about our wellness incentive program called 
BluePoints and begin earning points by engaging in 
healthy activities to purchase merchandise from the online 
shopping mall.

•	 Use interactive tools like the symptom checker.

•	 Get coaching support via phone

•	 Download mobile apps like the BCBSTX app, Centered 
and AlwaysOn.

•	 View your and your family’s claims history.

•	 Chat with a Personal Health Assistant.

Programs for a healthy life

"AMP" up your health
Get to know your health risks to improve 
your overall health. AMP is an ERS wellness 
initiative that encourages you to Assess 
your health through online assessments, 
Manage your weight and take steps to Prevent 
potential issues through preventive care.

Buena Vida
Brought to you by the Employees Retirement 
System of Texas, Buena Vida is a new 
program that helps you take control of your 
well-being. 

Whether you want to reach a fitness goal, 
improve your mental health or work toward 
financial wellness, Buena Vida offers easy-to-
use, web-based tools that allow you to manage 
your well-being from one convenient place.

Get more information from ERS, or your 
agency's wellness coordinator or HR 
department.

Health and wellness 
discounts
Save money on health and wellness products 
and services from top retailers that are not 
covered by insurance. There are no claims 
to file and no referrals or prior authorizations 
required. Visit healthselectoftexas.com and 
click Wellness Resources. From the drop 
down, click on Wellness Discount Program.

http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://healthselectoftexas.com
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Both HealthSelect 
plans offer a 
full menu of 
scientifically based 
health and wellness 
programs for state 
employees, retirees 
and their families:
•	Health assessments

•	Diabetes management

•	Exercise

•	Heart health

•	Nutrition

•	Tobacco cessation

•	Weight management

•	Stress management

•	Disease management

•	Healthy pregnancy

Get physical!
Did you know that even moderate 
exercise helps prevent or delay 
disease and disabilities? Be sure 
to warm up before exercising.

Stretch your muscles slowly. Try 
a little slow walking and light arm 
pumping. When doing endurance 
activities that make you sweat, 
drink plenty of liquids, especially 
water or drinks that contain 
electrolytes. Avoid holding your 
breath while exercising.

Jennica Preston
Benefits Coordinator
Seeing results with Real Appeal
When Jennica Preston joined Real Appeal, 
she wanted to lose the weight she had gained 
while pregnant. Preston, a human resources 
specialist at the Railroad Commission of 
Texas (RRC), wasn’t happy with the woman 
she saw in her mirror.

“I’d always been petite and small,” says 
Preston, who was enthusiastic about the Real 

Appeal approach from the beginning. “Real Appeal motivated me 
to make the right choices,” she said. “Right off the bat, I went cold 
turkey and stopped eating fast food and sodas. I started using my 
husband’s workout equipment to get exercise at home. A few times 
each week, I walked the twelve flights of stairs to my office.”

Preston’s commitment paid off. In less than six months, she lost 32 
pounds. Eventually, she was 64 pounds lighter and delighted with 
the results of her lifestyle change. “I’m thrilled to be getting back to 
the person I really am.”

Preston is also eager to help other GBP members as they seek to 
become healthier—and happier. She agreed to become the wellness 
coordinator at the Texas RRC and is excited to “have an opportunity to 
help my colleagues by sharing the benefits of getting and staying fit.”

From getting enough exercise to eating a well-balanced diet, there 
are many ways to maintain your health and wellness. The GBP 
offers several wellness resources and tools to help you and your 
covered dependents meet your physical and mental health goals. 
Medical plan resources and GBP wellness webinars will help you 
on your journey to wellness 

Wellness events: 
https://ers.texas.gov/event-calendars/wellness-events

Wellness resources: 
https://ers.texas.gov/wellness-resources
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Dental insurance
For an additional premium, you may enroll in one of the following 
dental plans.
You must enroll in a dental plan before you can add dependents, and your dependents must be enrolled in the same plan as you.

Go online
Find a list of providers for the State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM or DeltaCare USA DMHO at ERSdentalplans.com or by 
calling Delta Dental, toll-free, at (888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711), Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 7 p.m. CT.

Dental Choice
State of Texas

P
L
A

N

“Smart” benefits
To keep costs low, active employees who sign up for GBP dental insurance will not get an ID card from the plan, and 
participating Delta dentists should not require them.

Instead, if you want a card, you can download a digital card to your smartphone through the Delta Dental app. If you 
don’t have a smartphone, you can download and print your information from ERSdentalplans.com or call Delta Dental 
toll-free at (888) 818-7925 (TTY: 711) and they will mail a paper copy to you.

Note: Covered dependents cannot access the app, and their names are not listed on the card. A dependent can verify 
coverage with a provider by giving either their name or the GBP member’s name and plan ID number.

Other Insurance and Plans

State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM

The State of Texas Dental Choice Plan is a preferred provider organization (PPO) dental 
insurance plan. You can see any dentist you want, but you will pay less if you go to a 
dentist in one of two Delta Dental networks:
•	 Delta Dental PPO
•	 Delta Premier

All Delta Dental PPO and Delta Premier dentists are in-network providers. You get the same 
coverage in either network, but you may pay less for covered services in the Delta Dental 
PPO network. Delta Premier dentists can charge higher rates for the same covered services.

Benefits are available in the United States. If you receive a covered service in Canada or 
Mexico, it will be processed as an out-of-network benefit. If you are traveling outside of 
the U.S., Canada or Mexico and need a covered service on an emergency basis, it will be 
processed as an out-of-network benefit, reimbursable in U.S. currency.

DeltaCare® USA dental health maintenance organization
This is a dental health maintenance organization (DHMO) insurance plan.

•	 Coverage applies only to dentists in the Texas service area. Before you enroll, make 
sure there is a DeltaCare® USA network dentist in your area.

•	 You must choose a primary care dentist (PCD) from a list of approved providers. You and 
your enrolled dependents can choose different PCDs.

•	 Services from participating specialty dentists cost 25% less than the dentists’ usual charges 
when specialty care is coordinated by your PCD.

http://ERSdentalplans.com
http://ERSdentalplans.com
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Check the Discount Purchase Program for dental discounts
The Discount Purchase Program, administered by Beneplace, sometimes offers dental discount programs and 
discounted dental services. You can view them at beneplace.com/discountprogramers/. (To access discounts, you 
will need to register using your email address.)

Dental plans comparison chart
This chart is a summary of benefits in the two dental insurance plans. It shows your share of costs in each plan for commonly 
used services. See plan booklets at ERSdentalplans.com for actual coverage and limitations. Delta Dental administers both 
plans. Before starting treatment, discuss the treatment plan and all charges with your dentist.

State of Texas  
Dental Choice Plan PPO –  

In-Network

State of Texas  
Dental Choice Plan PPO –  

Out-of-Network

DeltaCare® USA DHMO 
(Services from participating  

PCDs only)

Dentists In-network dentist Out-of-network dentist

You must select a primary care 
dentist (PCD).
NOTE: Not all in-network dentists 
accept new patients. Dentists are 
not required to stay on the plan for 
the entire year.

Deductibles

Preventive:  
Individual-$0; Family-$0
Combined Basic/Major: 
Individual-$50; Family-$150
Orthodontic services: 
no deductible
In State of Texas Dental Choice, 
deductibles are based on the 
calendar year and reset on 
January 1.

Preventive: 
Individual-$50; Family-$150
Combined Basic/Major: 
Individual-$100; Family-$300
Orthodontic services: 
no deductible

None

Copays / 
coinsurance

Preventive and Diagnostic 
Services: none
Basic Services: 10% coinsurance 
after meeting the basic services 
deductible
Major Services: 50% coinsurance 
after meeting the major services 
deductible 
There is no charge for anything 
over the allowed amount.
After reaching the maximum 
calendar year benefit, the participant 
pays 60% until January 1.

Preventive and Diagnostic Services: 
10% coinsurance after meeting the 
preventive and diagnostic deductible
Basic Services: 30% coinsurance after 
meeting the basic services deductible
Major Services: 60% coinsurance after 
meeting the major services deductible
Participants may be required to pay the 
difference between the allowed amount 
and billed charges.
Once the maximum calendar year 
benefit is reached, the participant pays 
100% until January 1.

Primary care dentist (PCD): 
Copays vary according to service 
and are listed in the “Schedule of 
Dental Benefits” booklet.
Specialty dentistry: 75% of the 
dentist’s usual and customary fee 
when specialty care is coordinated 
by the PCD (DHMO pays nothing)

Maximum 
calendar year 
benefits

$2,000 per covered individual 
(includes orthodontic extractions) 
plus 40% after maximum calendar 
year benefit is met

Does not apply to orthodontic services 
provided by out-of-network dentists  
(plan pays $0)

Unlimited

Maximum lifetime 
benefit

$2,000 per covered individual for 
orthodontic services

$2,000 per covered individual for 
orthodontic services Unlimited

Average cost of 
cleaning / oral 
exams

Up to two cleaning/oral exams per 
calendar year allowed

10% of the allowed amount after 
deductible is met
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per 
calendar year allowed

Vary according to service and are 
listed in the “Schedule of Dental 
Benefits” booklet
Up to two cleaning/oral exams per 
calendar year allowed

Orthodontic 
coverage 50% of the allowed amount

50% of the allowed amount
Participants may be required to pay the 
difference between the allowed amount 
and billed charges.

Orthodontic services performed 
by a general dentist listed in the 
directory with a “0” treatment 
code: child–$1,800; adult–$2,100
Orthodontic services performed 
by a specialist: 75% of the usual 
fee (plan pays $0)

http://beneplace.com/discountprogramers/
https://www1.deltadentalins.com/group-sites/ers.html
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Vision insurance 
Vision benefits are an easy way for you and your dependents to maintain healthy vision and eyes. 
With State of Texas VisionSM, you can save money on eye exams and eyewear for yourself and 
your family with a small monthly premium and low copays. EyeMed Vision Care, LLC (EyeMed) is 
the administrator of State of Texas Vision.

State of Texas Vision covers an eye exam and includes an allowance for eyeglass frames or contact lenses once every plan 
year, as well as discounts for LASIK. The plan gives you an annual $200 retail allowance to use toward either contact lenses 
OR eyeglass frames in the same plan year. For example, if you use your $200 allowance to purchase contact lenses, you 
won’t have an allowance for eyeglass frames for the remainder of the year.

Vision coverage comparison chart, in-network services
Vision plan participants have access to EyeMed’s INSIGHT network which includes independent, national and regional 
retailers and online providers. All allowances are retail; you’re responsible for any charges in excess of the retail allowances, 
minus available discounts. Discounts are not funded benefits and may vary or change based on provider or manufacturer. 
Search the EyeMed provider network at member.eyemedvisioncare.com/stateoftexasvision.

Vision Care Services In-Network Member Cost Out-of-Network Member 
Reimbursement

Exam Services
Exam $15 copay1 Up to $40 after $15 copay
Contact Lens Fit and Follow-Up2

Fit and Follow-up – Standard $25 copay1 Up to $100
Fit and Follow-up – Premium $35 copay¹ Up to $100
Frame

Frame $200 retail allowance;
20% off amount over $200 Up to $75

Lenses
Single Vision $10 copay1 Up to $30
Bifocal $15 copay1 Up to $45
Trifocal $20 copay1 Up to $60
Progressive – Standard3 $70 copay plus bifocal $151 Not covered
Lens Options
Polycarbonate - Standard $40 copay1 Not covered
Scratch Coating - Standard Plastic $10 copay¹ Not covered
Tint - Solid and/or Gradient $10 copay¹ Not covered
UV Treatment $10 copay¹ Not covered
Anti-Reflective Coating - Standard $40 copay¹ Not covered
Contact Lenses
Contacts - Elective $200 allowance Up to $200
Contacts - Medically Necessary $0 copay Up to $210
Other

LASIK or PRK from U.S. Laser Network 15% off retail or 5% off promo price;  
call (800) 988-4221 Not covered

Retinal Imaging You are responsible for 100% of the cost, 
which is up to $39 for EyeMed customers. Not covered

1	Covered in full after copay is met.  
2	A Contact Lens Fit and Follow-Up has its own copay and is separate from the eye exam copay. Standard Contact Lens Fit and Follow-up 
applies to a current contact lens user who wears disposable, daily wear, or extended wear lenses only. Premium Contact Lens Fit and Follow-
up applies to new contact wearers and/or a participant who wears toric, gas permeable, or multi-focal lenses. 

3	Standard progressives are covered in full after a $70 copay. The $15 bifocal copay also applies to standard progressive lenses. For premium 
progressive lenses (in-network only), the plan coverage is up to the in-network plan payment for standard progressive lenses.

http://member.eyemedvisioncare.com/stateoftexasvision
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Optional life insurance 
Optional Term Life Insurance
Your GBP health coverage includes $5,000 of Basic Term Life Insurance and $5,000 
of Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D) coverage at no cost to you. You can 
purchase additional life insurance coverage in increments based on your annual salary. 
Both Basic and Optional Term Life Insurance are insured by Securian.

If you choose Optional Term Life Election 1 or 2 (one or two times your annual 
salary) during your first 31 days of employment, you will not have to provide evidence 
of insurability (EOI). If you do not sign up as a new employee, you can apply when 
you have a qualifying life event or during Summer Enrollment, but you will have to 
provide EOI and coverage is not guaranteed.

You can apply for Optional Term Life Election 3 or 4 (three or four times your annual 
salary) up to $400,000. You will have to provide EOI, a process that requires you to 
provide information about your health. Coverage is not guaranteed; you may not be 
approved for benefits based on the information included in your EOI.

Each Optional Term Life election provides an equal amount of additional AD&D 
coverage.

Securian’s website for GBP members can help you decide how much life insurance 
coverage you might need: securian.com/content/securian/en/insights-tools/
life-insurance-needs-calculator.
Premiums and coverage amounts for each plan year (Sept. 1 – Aug. 31) will be based 
on the salary reported to ERS on Sept. 1 of that plan year. Your monthly premiums for 
Optional Term Life Insurance will depend on your age, salary and level of coverage each 
plan year. To calculate your premium, see page 39 of this guide.

Like with most group term life policies, premiums for the GBP’s Optional Term Life 
Insurance increase as the policyholder ages. Age-based coverage reductions start at 
age 70. For more information, visit the Securian website to review a plan overview and 
learn more about coverage options for yourself and your dependents.

Dependent Term Life Insurance
For an additional premium, you can enroll your eligible dependents in term life 
insurance. The plan includes $5,000 term life with $5,000 AD&D for each covered 
dependent, for a monthly premium of just a few dollars. You will get the life insurance 
benefit if your covered dependents die. You will get the AD&D benefit if they die or 
suffer certain injuries in an accident. One monthly premium covers all your eligible 
dependents, but all eligible dependents must be named under the coverage.

If you do not sign up as a new employee, you can apply for this insurance when you have 
a qualifying life event or during Summer Enrollment, but you will have to supply EOI and 
coverage is not guaranteed. You do not need to supply EOI for Dependent Term Life 
Insurance if you add a new dependent, such as a new spouse or child, within 31 days of 
getting married or within 31 days of the child's birth or placement.

First 31 days: No questions
If you want additional life insurance coverage and disability insurance, 
your first month of employment is the best time to sign up because you 
will not have to provide EOI for Optional Term Life Election 1 or 2, or for 

short-term or long-term disability insurance. EOI is an application process during 
which you must provide information about your or your dependents’ health. 
Don’t miss this 31-day window of opportunity! If you wait, you run the risk of not 
qualifying for these benefits based on EOI results.

31 
DAYS

Designate your 
beneficiaries
Although you aren’t required 
to do so in your first month, it’s 
a good idea to designate your 
beneficiaries for your State of 
Texas Retirement account, life 
insurance policy and Texa$aver 
account(s) as soon as you can.

You can find instructions 
on how to designate your 
beneficiaries for each at https://
ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/
Update-Your-Beneficiaries.

Understanding term 
life insurance
Term life insurance is 
temporary. That is, you're 
covered only as long as you’re 
eligible as an employee or 
retiree of a state agency or 
higher education institution, 
and paying the monthly 
premium. It is less expensive 
than whole life insurance and 
provides a way to bulk up your 
coverage when you’re bringing 
home a paycheck. Your 
working years tend to be when 
your family’s expenses are 
highest and, therefore, when 
they need the most financial 
protection against unexpected 
loss of life and income.

The temporary nature of 
the benefit is part of what 
makes it so cost-effective and 
flexible. It’s similar in function 
to your homeowner’s and car 
insurance in that you pay only 
what it costs to insure yourself 
at the time you’re paying 
premiums and for the amount 
of coverage you have.

You may decide to increase 
coverage when you’re growing 
a family and decrease (or even 
drop) it later, when you have 
fewer financial obligations.

http://securian.com/content/securian/en/insights-tools/life-insurance-needs-calculator
http://securian.com/content/securian/en/insights-tools/life-insurance-needs-calculator
https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
https://ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
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Voluntary AD&D insurance
Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance coverage can provide additional financial support if there 
is an accidental death or injury of a certain type. You can choose insurance in increments of $5,000, starting at $10,000 up to 
$200,000. You will not have to provide EOI for AD&D Insurance. Securian insures AD&D insurance benefits.

You can sign up for coverage for yourself only, or for yourself and your eligible dependents.

Coverage includes the following:

•	 If you die as the direct result of an accidental bodily injury, your beneficiaries will receive the full amount of your coverage.

•	 Enrolled family members are covered at partial benefit levels. Your spouse is covered at 50% of your enrolled amount. Eligible 
children are covered at a lower percentage, which is reduced if your spouse is alive at the time of your child’s death.

•	 If you have an accident and suffer any of the covered injuries, such as loss of a hand, a foot, or sight in one or both eyes, 
you will receive a percentage of the full amount of your coverage.

•	 If an eligible family member loses a hand, a foot, or sight of one or both eyes in an accident, you receive a percentage of 
the benefit if you have coverage for that family member.

You can update your beneficiaries at any time. Go to https://ers.texas.gov/Beneficiary-Designation for step-by-step instructions.

Important notice: Short-
term disability insurance 
and paid parental leave
Senate Bill 222 provides 40 paid 
days of leave to some state agency 
employees who are new parents. 
(Paid days for parental leave are 
based on the employee's work 
schedule.) Agency employees who 
are thinking about becoming parents 
should carefully review Senate Bill 
222, federal Family Medical Leave 
Act (FMLA) policies and TIPP 
short-term disability coverage for 
new mothers who gave birth. It is 
important to understand how state 
and federal laws affect your access to 
both paid and unpaid leave, and how 
TIPP might provide income during 
at least part of parental leave for a 
mother after giving birth. 

Please note: ERS does not 
manage paid leave for state agency 
employees. If you have questions 
about leave policies, including FMLA 
and paid parental leave, please 
consult with your organization’s 
human resources staff.

Could you afford to go months or even weeks without a 
paycheck? The Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP) 
provides you with money to help pay your bills if an 
illness, injury or other health-related condition makes it 
impossible for you to work.

•	 Short-term disability insurance provides a maximum benefit of 66% of your 
monthly salary, with a cap of $6,600 per month for those making more than 
$10,000 monthlya maximum of 166 days. For example, if your monthly salary is 
$4,800, the highest amount you’ll get for short-term disability is $3,168 per month.

•	 Long-term disability insurance provides a maximum benefit of 60% of your 
monthly salary, with a cap of $6,000 per month for those making more than 
$10,000 monthly. For example, if your salary is $4,800 per month, your monthly 
long-term disability payment would be $2,880. Benefits are paid until you return 
to work, reach full Social Security retirement age or are no longer considered 
disabled under the plan.

If you become disabled at 69 or older, benefits are payable for up to 12 months. 
Note: For some mental diseases and disorders, the maximum benefit period for 
disability is two years.

Pre-existing conditions are subject to certain exclusions.

You must use all of your sick leave (including extended sick leave, donated sick 
leave and sick leave pool) or complete a waiting period 14 consecutive days for 
short-term, 180 days for long-term, whichever option is longest, before disability 
payments will be paid. You are not required to use your vacation time.

If you are eligible for Workers’ Compensation payments and/or State of Texas 
Disability Retirement, your long-term disability payments may be reduced. The 
minimum benefit is 10% of your monthly salary.

TIPP coverage is not available for family members.

Please review the plan documents, including the User’s Guide, at 
texasincomeprotectionplan.com, before applying for TIPP disability insurance.

Disability insurance

https://www.ers.texas.gov/Beneficiary-Designation
http://texasincomeprotectionplan.com
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TIPP coverage overview

GBP participant Thomas Barker-White has worked for the Texas Department of Family 
and Protective Services (DFPS), including as a statewide intake supervisor overseeing 
a staff of nine.

Barker-White and his wife, Lutishia, a former state employee, value their ERS-
administered health and retirement benefits.

They set aside money for retirement through Texa$aver to prepare for their future. They believe it is a good benefit 
for employees who don’t trust their own judgment with investments.

But in 2011, the most important benefit became short- term and long-term disability insurance.

In 2011, Lutishia became disabled due to arthritis and related injuries. Her disability insurance payments made up 
for a portion of the income she lost when she could no longer work.

As a result, the couple was able to manage their finances without any substantial changes.

Having both short-term and long-term disability insurance made a huge difference by providing the financial support 
the couple needed when one of them could no longer work, says Barker-White.

“I know people who work in the private sector who do not have access to disability insurance through their employer.

They can buy it on their own, but the premium is not as reasonable as what we have as state employees.”

Barker-White appreciates that the state covers the full cost of the employee’s health insurance premium. It’s another 
valuable benefit that makes working for the state attractive, he says.

“Having good insurance coverage is so important. You may never need it (and I hope you don’t), but if you do, you 
are probably REALLY going to need it. Life can come at you quick, so it’s best to cover all your bases.”

TIPP disability insurance coverage is administered by Alight, Inc.

If you do not sign up as a new employee, you can apply for this insurance when you have a qualifying life event (QLE) or during 
Summer Enrollment, but you will have to supply EOI and coverage is not guaranteed. EOI for short-term and long-term disability 
coverage is managed by Guardian Life Insurance.

Short-term disability coverage Long-term disability coverage

Monthly benefits 66% of your monthly salary, up to a $6,600 
benefit each month

60% of your monthly salary, up to a $6,000 benefit 
each month

Potential benefit 
reduction

Benefits are reduced if you get other 
disability payments. The minimum benefit is 
10% of your monthly salary.

Benefits are reduced if you get other disability 
payments. The minimum benefit is 10% of your 
monthly salary.

When do benefits 
start?

After a waiting period of 14 consecutive 
days or after you’ve used all your sick leave 
(whichever is longer); if you have sick leave, 
you must use it during the 14-day waiting 
period

After a waiting period of 180 consecutive days or after 
you’ve used all your sick leave (whichever is longer); 
sick leave can be used during the 180-day waiting 
period

How long are 
benefits paid?

Up to 166 days after the completion of your 
waiting period or sick leave exhaustion, 
unless sick leave reaches Maximum Benefits 
Period

Until you are able to return to work or until you reach 
your Maximum Benefits Period, based on the age you 
become disabled or based on the condition causing 
your disability

Thomas Barker-White
Statewide intake supervisor
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SM

Participating in one or more of the TexFlexSM flexible 
spending accounts (FSAs) allows you to set aside pre- tax 
dollars from your paycheck to cover eligible out-of- pocket 
health care and dependent care expenses. Your TexFlex 
contribution is automatically withdrawn from your paycheck 
and deposited in your account each month.

Before you enroll, you may want to use the tools in the Program 
Resources section of the TexFlex website at texflexers.com to 
figure out how much to contribute to each account.

Summer Enrollment is the only time you can change the 
amount you contribute to your TexFlex FSA(s), unless you 
have a qualifying life event during the plan year. Once 
you’re enrolled, if you do not make a change during Summer 
Enrollment, you will continue enrollment and your annual 
contribution will stay the same in the next plan year.

Save on taxes
The benefit of TexFlex accounts is the ability to save on 
taxes. Contributions to an FSA are deducted before you pay 
income taxes, lowering your taxable income. The federal 
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) regulates FSAs. The IRS 
says what you can spend FSA funds on and sets deadlines 
for when you must use the money in your FSAs. If you don’t 
spend your FSA money by those deadlines, you could lose 
at least some of that money. If you are considering enrolling, 
you should use the contribution worksheet or calculator at 
texflexers.com to help you decide how much you should to 
contribute based on your planned expenses.

Active employees may be eligible to enroll in more than one 
TexFlex account at a time. See the following chart for rules 
that apply to each type of account.

If you enroll in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, 
you cannot enroll in a health care FSA. But you 
can enroll in a limited-purpose FSA. You can use 
the limited-purpose FSA for eligible out-of-pocket 
dental and vision expenses only. General health care 
expenses that are eligible under a health care FSA– 
such as doctor visits and prescription medicines–are 
NOT eligible under a limited-purpose FSA.

Visit texflex.payflex.com/texflex/program-
resources.html for more information.

Leftover TexFlex dollars?
Health care or limited-purpose FSA: At the end of Plan 
Year 2025 (Sept. 1, 2024 – Aug. 31, 2025), you can carry 
over unused health care or limited-purpose funds between 
$25 and $640 to Plan Year 2026. You will lose any funds over 
$640 if you do not spend them by the end of the plan year on 
Aug. 31. 

Dependent care FSA: You cannot carry over any funds in 
a dependent care FSA, but you have extra time to spend 
unused funds, called the grace period. The grace period 
allows you 2½ more months after the plan year ends on 
Aug. 31 (through Nov. 15) to use any leftover money in that 
account. You will lose any funds from the previous plan year 
that you don’t use by Nov. 15. 

See the following chart for more details on carryovers and 
the grace period. Forfeited money goes into the overall 
TexFlex fund to help pay administrative costs of the program.

How to pay with TexFlex
After you enroll in a TexFlex health care or limited-purpose 
FSA, you will get a debit card in the mail that you can use 
to pay eligible expenses, such as a prescription or a dentist 
visit. If you have a TexFlex dependent care account, you 
must submit a claim for reimbursement after the eligible 
services have been provided. You cannot use a TexFlex debit 
card to pay dependent care expenses.

For the health care FSA or limited-purpose FSA, you can 
choose not to use the debit card and instead submit a claim 
for reimbursement online, or by mail or fax.

If you submit a claim for reimbursement online or by 
mail or fax, TexFlex will mail a check to you. For quicker 
reimbursement, set up a direct deposit for funds to be 
deposited directly into your bank account within a few days.

Keep your receipts
Because TexFlex accounts are tax-free, the IRS requires all 
purchases with TexFlex funds to be validated.

Inspira Financial, the TexFlex plan administrator, may ask 
you to submit proof that you used your TexFlex funds to pay 
for eligible expenses. Please remember to SAVE YOUR 
RECEIPTS, regardless of how you pay. If you cannot provide 
a receipt for an eligible purchase with your TexFlex debit 
card, Inspira might ask you to reimburse your account for the 
funds. Your debit card will be suspended if you do not submit 
documentation for purchases made with your debit card that 
require validation.

http://texflexers.com
http://texflexers.com
http://texflex.payflex.com/texflex/program-resources.html
http://texflex.payflex.com/texflex/program-resources.html
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Serena Lopez
For much of her career with the state, GBP participant 
Serena Lopez helped many active employees and retirees 
understand which benefits options are right for them. For 
this mother of three, TexFlex makes sense.

“TexFlex allows me to put aside money tax-free for 
medical expenses and lowers my taxable income.”

“My kids seem to get sick like clockwork in November, just 
when I’m starting to make my holiday shopping list. That’s 
when I’m glad I have my TexFlex health care flexible 
spending account to pay for doctor visits and medicine. 
By setting aside a certain amount from my paycheck each 
month, I know the money will be there when I need it.”

Health care FSA
Limited-purpose FSA

(Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect participants only)

Dependent care FSA

Eligible expenses
See complete list at  
https://texflex.
payflex.com

•	 Copays, coinsurance and 
other out-of-pocket medically 
necessary charges not covered 
by insurance or reimbursed by 
another source

•	 Prescription drug deductible 
and copays

•	 Over-the-counter medicine

•	 Qualified vision and dental 
expenses not paid by 
insurance or reimbursed by 
another source

•	 Day care, after-school care 
and summer day camp for 
dependent children under 
age 13

•	 Adult day care programs for 
qualifying individuals

Maximum annual 
contribution $3,200 per participant $3,200 per participant $5,000 per household

Funds availability Full election available Sept. 1 Full election available Sept. 1 Funds available monthly as 
contributions are made

Debit card (no fee) Yes Yes No

Carryover of funds or 
grace period

Up to $640 in carryover is allowed 
from Plan Year 2025 (ending 
Aug. 31, 2025) to Plan Year 2026 
(starting Sept. 1, 2025). You will 
forfeit any unspent Plan Year 2025 
funds above $640.

Up to $640 in carryover is allowed 
from Plan Year 2025 (ending 
Aug. 31, 2025) to Plan Year 2026 
(starting Sept. 1, 2025). You will 
forfeit any unspent Plan Year 2025 
funds above $640.

There is a 2½-month grace 
period from Sept. 1 through 
Nov. 15, 2025. You will forfeit 
any Plan Year 2025 funds not 
spent by Nov. 15, 2025.

Runout period

Submit claims for eligible 
expenses you paid between 
Sept. 1, 2024 and Aug. 31, 2025 
by Dec. 31, 2025.

Submit claims for eligible 
expenses you paid between 
Sept. 1, 2024 and Aug. 31, 2025 
by Dec. 31, 2025.

Submit claims for eligible 
expenses you paid between 
Sept. 1, 2024 and Nov. 15, 
2025 by Dec. 31, 2025.

Flexible spending accounts in Plan Year 2025
Health care, limited-purpose and dependent care

https://texflex.payflex.com
https://texflex.payflex.com
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As a state agency employee, you will contribute a portion 
of your salary each month to a State of Texas Retirement 
account that ERS manages and invests for you. Your 
contributions begin the month you start working for the state.

Note: The following information about the cash balance 
retirement benefit applies to the following State of Texas 
employees:
•	 Those starting their first job with a Texas agency on or 

after Sept. 1, 2022
•	 Those who worked for the state before, withdrew their 

State of Texas Retirement account, and are returning to 
state employment on or after Sept. 1, 2022

If you were previously employed at a State of Texas agency, 
left state employment, but kept your money in your State 
of Texas Retirement account, your retirement benefit might 
be different than the benefit described below. For more 
information, see the “Retirement groups” information on page 
33 and visit the ERS website at the URL provided there.

“Defined benefit” retirement with a 
lifetime monthly payment
Your State of Texas Retirement is a type of defined benefit 
retirement called a cash balance benefit. Defined benefit 
retirement plans, also known as pensions, are valuable benefits 
that few employers offer anymore. Defined benefit plans are 
different than 401(k)s and many other workplace retirement 
plans because they pay a lifetime benefit after retirement. If you 
do not withdraw your funds, when you become eligible to retire 
you will get a monthly payment (called an annuity) for the rest 
of your life—no matter how long you live or if your account runs 
out of money. (Plans like 401(k)s don’t provide a benefit after 
the account runs out of money.)

Employee contributions, 
guaranteed growth and the state’s 
match
In a defined benefit plan, employees must contribute a 
percentage of their salary (currently 6%) to the ERS retirement 
fund. Throughout your career, in addition to your contributions, 
your State of Texas Retirement account will grow by at least 
4% every year. Depending on the Trust Fund’s investment 
performance, your account could grow by an additional 3% 
(up to a total of 7%) each year, through a feature called gain-
sharing. Your account will never earn less than 4% a year, 
even in years when investments don’t perform well. Until you 
retire with the state, your account will continue to grow 4% to 

7% each year—even if you quit working for the state and no 
longer contribute to the account, as long as you leave your 
account with ERS when you exit your state job.

When you’re eligible and ready to retire, the state will match 
your account’s entire balance—made up of your monthly 
6% contributions while working for the state, the 4% annual 
interest earnings and any gain-sharing—by 150%. ERS 
will use the entire final balance, including the state’s 150% 
match, to calculate your lifetime monthly payment.

Mandatory participation
Employees sometimes ask if they can opt out of or contribute 
less to their State of Texas Retirement. The answer is no. 
Defined benefit plans are designed with the understanding 
that all employees will participate and contribute a set portion 
of their salary. An employee cannot take out loans against 
their account and cannot transfer or withdraw money from the 
ERS retirement fund while they are employed by the state.

Eligibility to retire
You will be eligible to retire with a lifetime annuity when you 
have at least five years of service with the state and:
•	 turn 65 years old

or
•	 meet the Rule of 80, when your age (in years and months) 

plus your state service (in years and months) equal 80.

If you are a part-time employee, a year of service counts the 
same as a year of service for a full-time employee.

Leaving state employment before 
retirement eligibility
If you leave state employment before you’re eligible to retire, 
you can keep your retirement contributions where they are or 
move them to another retirement account.

You can also withdraw the amount you contributed plus 
interest, minus taxes. You should consult a tax advisor to 
learn if you might face any tax penalty for withdrawing the 
funds before a certain age.

It’s important to remember that if you leave your account with 
ERS:

•	 it will continue to grow by 4% to 7% each year and

•	 if you have at least five years of service with the state, 
you can still get a lifetime annuity from ERS when you 
reach retirement eligibility, even if you’re not working for 
the state when you become eligible.

State of Texas Retirement
Retirement Benefits
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Retirement groups
Over the years, the Texas Legislature has 
changed retirement benefits and eligibility 
requirements based on when employees 
started working for the State of Texas. 
These changes led to the creation of 
four separate retirement groups, each 
with different eligibility requirements and 
annuity calculations. 

Group 1 started working for the 
state before Sept. 1, 2009.

Group 2 started working for the 
state between Sept. 1, 2009 and 
Aug. 31, 2013.

Group 3 started working for the 
state between Sept. 1, 2013 and 
Aug. 31, 2022.

Group 4 started working for the state 
on or after Sept. 1, 2022.

Groups 1, 2 and 3 have a traditional 
defined benefit retirement, with a retiree’s 
annuity based on their years of service 
and highest average salary. These 
members also contribute more to their 
retirement accounts than Group 4. 

Group 4 has a cash balance benefit, with 
a retirement annuity based on the total 
account balance when the employee 
retires. The Group 4 retirement benefits 
paid for by the state are equitable with 
Group 3.

To learn more about the different 
retirement groups, go to https://ers.texas.
gov/PDFs/Retirement-Insurance-State-
overview.pdf. 

View a short video 
explaining your Group 4 
retirement benefit.

Different eligibility and benefits for 
different types of employees
Retirement eligibility and benefits are different for law enforcement and 
custodial officers, statewide elected state officials, legislators, district 
attorneys and judges. If you’re one of these employees, you can find 
more information about your State of Texas Retirement, including annuity 
calculators, your minimum retirement age and retirement benefits, at https://
ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement.

Health insurance in retirement
Texas Employees Group Benefits Program (GBP) retiree insurance is 
currently available to retirees with at least 10 years of eligible service credit 
at a state agency or higher education institution participating in the GBP. 
Please note: Independent school districts (with the exception of Windham 
School District), the University of Texas System and the Texas A&M University 
System do not participate in the GBP, so service with those employers does 
not count as eligible service credit toward the required 10 years. A retiree who 
meets this requirement is eligible for GBP retiree health insurance benefits 
at age 65 or after meeting the Rule of 80. You meet the Rule of 80 when the 
sum of your age and service credit—in both months and years—equal or 
exceed 80. For retirees eligible for GBP health insurance, the amount the 
state pays toward their monthly premium varies depending on their years  
of service. For more information on health insurance in retirement, go to  
https://ers.texas.gov/ Retirees/Health-Benefits-for-retirees.

As with all GBP benefits, health insurance for retirees is subject to change 
without notice. The Texas Legislature sets the level of funding for such 
benefits and has no continuing obligation to provide those benefits beyond 
each fiscal year.

State of Texas Disability Retirement for 
regular state employees, certified peace 
officers (CPOs) and custodial officers (COs)
If you become disabled, you may be eligible for retirement and insurance 
benefits sooner than your normal retirement age. The ERS Medical Board 
must certify that the disability is likely to be permanent and prevents you from 
continuing your state job or any other occupation offering comparable pay.

ERS has two retirement eligibility plans for disability: non-occupational 
and occupational. Occupational disability retirement applies to regular 
state employees, CPOs and COs who become injured or disabled due to 
a specific event occurring on the job, have at least one month of ERS or 
creditable state service, and meet certain other criteria.

Occupational disability retirement is possible only if a disabling injury or 
disease results 1) solely from a specific act or occurrence that took place at 
a definite time and place and 2) solely from an extremely dangerous risk of 
severe physical or mental trauma or disease that is uncommon to the public 
at large and is peculiar to and inherent in a dangerous duty arising from the 
nature and in the course of the member’s state employment.

If ERS approves your disability retirement, you are eligible for:

•	 a monthly retirement payment and

•	 retiree health insurance through the GBP.

https://ers.texas.gov/PDFs/Retirement-Insurance-State-overview.pdf
https://ers.texas.gov/PDFs/Retirement-Insurance-State-overview.pdf
https://ers.texas.gov/PDFs/Retirement-Insurance-State-overview.pdf
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/State-of-Texas-Retirement
https://ers.texas.gov/ Retirees/Health-Benefits-for-retirees
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Jo Ann Norman 
Continued income... and continued service
For nearly 17 years, GBP member Jo Ann Norman’s day 
job was to guard the women serving time in the Crain 
Unit in Gatesville, the state women’s prison. Even in 
retirement, Norman continues to watch over and support 
the women imprisoned at Gatesville, leading Friday 
evening prayer services as a volunteer prison minister.

Some 50 to 100 inmates attend services at one of four 
different Gatesville units every Friday night. Women 
of different ages and backgrounds gather in the prison 
prayer room for two hours of prayer and fellowship.

Her ministry has contributed to Norman’s own sense of 
self-worth, and she tries to build the same self-confidence 
in the women in her care. “I try to instill in them that they 
need to build lives on their own.”

In retirement, Norman has led an independent and 
active life. In addition to her ministry, she has provided 
sensitivity training for prison staff members who interact 
directly with Gatesville inmates. At home, she has driven 
her own John Deere tractor to mow the three acres of 
grass on her property. “Somebody forgot to tell me I’m 
supposed to be old!”

Norman says her ERS retirement annuity combined with 
Social Security have allowed her to live by herself and 
to avoid having to move in with her children. (She has 
four children, 10 or 11 grandchildren, and more great- 
grandchildren than she can keep track of.) She has also 
been able to provide financial help when a grandchild was 
diagnosed with cancer.

She herself has had knee surgery. The experience 
made her especially grateful for the health insurance 
and prescription drug coverage she receives as an ERS 
retiree. “I had one of the best knee surgeons in the state. 
The care I received was tremendous.”

Norman acknowledges that, without the support of the 
ERS benefits she earned in her career, her rich and 
blessed life would not be possible.

Service from other Texas 
retirement systems
The following Texas retirement systems are part of 
the Proportionate Retirement Program (PRP):

•	 City of Austin Police Retirement System 

•	 City of Austin Retirement System 

•	 El Paso City Employees’ Pension Fund 

•	 El Paso Firemen and Policemen’s Pension Fund 

•	 Employees Retirement System of Texas

•	 Judicial Retirement System of Texas Plan 1 

•	 Judicial Retirement System of Texas Plan 2 

•	 Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS) 

•	 Texas County and District Retirement System 
(TCDRS)

•	 Texas Municipal Retirement System (TMRS) 

As a state employee, you may be able to combine 
service from two or more of these systems to 
become eligible for retirement. When you retire, 
you may receive a retirement payment from each 
system based on your service with each system. 
For example: if you have at least one month of 
ERS service credit, you can apply previous TMRS 
service to become eligible for ERS retirement. 
Learn more about the PRP by visiting https://
ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/
Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/
Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP). 

Three income sources for a 
financially secure retirement 
State employees contribute to the retirement fund 
while they work to earn a steady monthly benefit 
in retirement. However, this is only one part of a 
financially secure retirement. Both federal Social 
Security and personal savings are other important 
components of your retirement income security. 
Currently, the average state retiree’s annuity is 
equal to only about half their working salary, and 
there is no assurance of regular cost-of-living 
adjustments (COLAs). The cash balance benefit 
for future Group 4 retirees is expected to include 
regular annuity increases in retirement through 
gain-sharing, but it is still important to think about 
opportunities for personal retirement savings. 
ERS offers options for personal retirement savings 
through the Texa$averSM 401(k) / 457 Program. (See 
pages 35–36 for more information on Texa$aver.)

https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP)
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP)
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP)
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Service-Credit-for-State-of-Texas-Retirement/Proportionate-Retirement-Program-(PRP)
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Texa$averSM 401(k) / 457 Program
Your monthly State of Texas Retirement annuity will be 
an important source of income during retirement, but 
it probably won’t replace your full salary as an active 

employee. In fact, for most retirees, their annuity is about half the salary they earned 
while working. Even with Social Security, you probably will need another source of 
income to maintain financial security throughout retirement. That’s why it’s important for 
you to have other sources of retirement income, such as personal retirement savings.

The Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 Program offers the chance to save for retirement through a 
variety of investment opportunities at lower-than-average fees.

As a new state agency employee, you will automatically be enrolled to contribute 1% 
of your monthly salary to a Texa$aver 401(k). Your contributions will be deducted from 
your monthly paycheck before taxes and invested to help you save for a more secure 
retirement. The investment product (currently a target date fund that correlates with the 
date you reach traditional retirement age) is selected by the ERS Board of Trustees.

Are you a direct transfer from another state agency? 
If so, you may participate in Texa$aver, but you will have to enroll in the program on your own—your contribution 
is not automatically deducted from your paycheck.

State of Texas 
Retirement 
6% of pay

Social Security 
6.2% of pay

Personal Savings 
1% of pay  

(auto-enrollment) or 
more to 401(k) or 457

Retirement Preparation: 
Member's Share of 

Responsibility

Among the things 
you can do with 
your Texa$aver 
account are:
•	 Purchase state 

service credit.

•	 Defer unused annual 
leave when you leave 
state employment 
(instead of taking a 
cash payout, to reduce 
taxes).

•	 	Consolidate and roll 
over money from 
other qualified IRAs 
or 401(k) or 457 
accounts.

•	 	Roll over a payment 
from your State of 
Texas Retirement 
account, if you opt 
for a partial lump-
sum payment upon 
retirement.

•	 	Make periodic 
(monthly or quarterly) 
withdrawals.*

•	 	Make partial 
withdrawals.*

•	 	Withdraw your entire 
account at once.*

*Withdrawals from 
a traditional 401(k) 
before age 59½ may be 
subject to a 10% early 
distribution penalty tax, 
above what you will owe 
in income tax.

If you don’t want to participate in the Texa$aver program and don’t want money taken 
out of your first paycheck, you can cancel your auto-enrollment by calling Empower 
Retirement toll-free at (800) 634-5091 within 30 days of employment and request a 
refund, which will process within 90 days.

You can increase your contribution if you would like to save more. You can make other 
changes, including enrolling in a 457 account, stopping contributions or changing how 
your contributions are invested. You can make these changes at any time during the 
year— you do not have to wait for an enrollment period or qualifying life event.

You can keep your Texa$aver account even after you no longer work for the state, and 
the Texa$aver program can help you manage your retirement income. Because the 
Texa$aver program has lower fees than many other retirements savings plans, you could 
save money by keeping your Texa$aver account.
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What is a target date fund?
For many people, one of the hardest parts of saving for 
retirement is knowing how best to invest their individual 
account, like a Texa$aver 401(k) or 457 account. With a 
target date fund, you get a professionally managed portfolio 
in a single investment option, with a mix of investments that 
changes based on your “target” retirement date. The mix of 
investments (or asset allocation) grows more conservative 
as you approach the target date when you are expected 
to start withdrawing your money (generally assumed to be 
age 65). The principal value of the fund(s) is not guaranteed 
at any time, including at the time of the target date and/or 
withdrawal.

Beginning the first month of your employment, 1% of your 
paycheck will automatically be invested in an investment 
product selected by the ERS Board of Trustees. At the time 
of this publication, the 1% automatic investment is directed 
to a target date fund. You can change your Texa$aver 
investment option at any time, but keep in mind, a target date 
fund is intended to be diversified in a way that correlates with 
the date you reach traditional retirement age. 

Note: Investing your account in multiple target date funds 
defeats the purpose of a target date fund. To learn more, 
click the Investing tab to visit the Investment Information 
page on the Texa$aver website (www.texasaver.com). A 
helpful Texa$aver Target Date Funds Explained video is 
also available at https://empower.wistia.com/medias/
hzuxpo59vg. 

Administrative fees for your Texa$aver 
account
Administrative fees for new Texa$aver accounts are waived 
for six months. At the end of the waiver period, a monthly 
fee will be deducted from your account. Fees are charged 
at $1.50 per participant, per month and are assessed to the 
401(k) and 457 plans separately.

Rolling over funds from other retirement 
accounts to Texa$aver
Do you have retirement savings accounts from other jobs? 
You can transfer–or “roll over”–money from a qualified prior 
eligible employer’s 401(k), 401(a), 403(b) or governmental 
457 plan into your Texa$aver 401(k) or 457 account. You can 
also roll over money from an eligible individual retirement 
account (IRA). The Texa$aver 401(k) and 457 plans accept 
Roth rollovers from other qualified plans as well, but you 
cannot roll over Roth IRAs to the Texa$aver Program.

Consider all your options and their features and fees before 
moving money between accounts.

Age at which you start contributing $68 monthly Gross monthly payment from age 65 to 85,  
assuming investments yield 6% rate of return

Age 30
($28,560 total investment)

$694
($96,880 total savings + investment earnings)

Age 40
($20,400 total investment)

$338
($47,124 total savings + investment earnings)

Age 50
($12,240 total investment)

$142
($19,776 total savings + investment earnings)

Age 60
($4,080 total investment)

$34
($4,744 total savings + investment earnings)

As an illustration only, this hypothetical scenario shows possible retirement income. Please note:

•	 It is not a projection or prediction of future investment results, nor is it intended as financial planning or investment advice. 

•	 It assumes a 6% annual rate of return in both the accumulation and withdrawal phases. 

•	 It assumes reinvestment of earnings and a payee lifespan of 20 years in retirement. 

•	 Rates of return may vary. 

The example below shows how, depending on your age, a $68 monthly contribution in a Texa$aver account until age 65  
can potentially grow into a higher monthly payment to yourself in retirement.

http://www.texasaver.com
https://empower.wistia.com/medias/hzuxpo59vg
https://empower.wistia.com/medias/hzuxpo59vg
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Plan Year 2025 Rates
Monthly Premiums (Sept. 1, 2024 – Aug. 31, 2025)

Full-time Employees
Premium* State Pays You Pay

HealthSelect of Texas®

You Only $	 624.82  $	 624.82  $	 0.00 
You + Spouse 1,340.82 982.82 358.00 
You + Children 1,104.22 864.52 239.70 
You + Family 1,820.22 1,222.52 597.70 
Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM**
You Only 624.82 $	 624.82 $	 0.00 
You + Spouse 1,305.02 982.82 322.20 
You + Children 1,080.24 864.52 215.72 
You + Family 1,760.44 1,222.52 537.92 

*Includes applicable premium for Basic Term Life Insurance
**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see the 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect HSA Contribution table on the next page.

Part-time Employees, Graduate Students/Teaching Assistants, Post-doctoral and 
Adjunct Faculty†

Premium* State Pays You Pay
HealthSelect of Texas®

You Only $	 624.82 $	 312.41  $	 312.41  
You + Spouse 1,340.82 491.41 849.41 

You + Children 1,104.22 432.26 671.96 
You + Family 1,820.22 611.26 1,208.96 

Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM**
You Only $	 624.82  $	 312.41  $	 312.41  

You + Spouse 1,305.02 491.41 813.61
You + Children 1,080.24 432.26 647.98

You + Family 1,760.44 611.26 1,149.18 
*Includes applicable premium for Basic Term Life Insurance
**The “State Pays” amount includes a monthly contribution to the member’s Optum Bank health savings account (HSA). Please see the 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect HSA Contribution table on the next page.
†The state does not contribute to the cost of health insurance for adjunct faculty.

Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM Health Savings Account (HSA) Contribution
State Pays

You Only $	 45 monthly ($540 annually) 
You + Spouse 90 monthly ($1,080 annually)
You + Children 90 monthly ($1,080 annually)
You + Family 90 monthly ($1,080 annually)

An HSA is a tax-free savings account for qualified health expenses. 
You can receive the “State Pays” HSA contribution if you are:
• enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, 
• eligible for a portion of your health premium to be paid by the state and
• not eligible for Medicare.

Helpful Information
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Dental Insurance

DeltaCare® USA DHMO Employee/ 
Retiree COBRA COBRA 

Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only $	 9.59 $	 9.78 $	 14.39 Spouse Only $	 9.59
You + Spouse 19.18 19.56 28.77 Spouse + Children   23.02
You + Children 23.02 23.48 34.53 Children Only   13.43
You + Family 32.59 33.24 48.89

State of Texas Dental Choice PlanSM Employee/ 
Retiree COBRA COBRA 

Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only $	 28.73 $	 29.30 $	 43.10 Spouse Only $	 28.73
You + Spouse 57.46 58.61 86.19 Spouse + Children 68.95
You + Children 68.95 70.33 103.43 Children Only 40.22
You + Family 97.68 99.63 146.52

Vision Insurance

State of Texas VisionSM Employee/
Retiree COBRA COBRA 

Disability Surviving Dependents

You Only $	 4.61 $	 4.70 $	 6.92 Spouse Only $	 4.61
You + Spouse 9.22 9.40 13.83 Spouse + Children 9.91
You + Children 9.91 10.11 14.87 Children Only 5.30
You + Family 14.52 14.81 21.78

Tobacco-user Premium
If you and/or a family member enrolled in medical insurance is certified as a tobacco user, you will pay an additional tobacco-user 
premium of $30, $60 or $90 each month, depending on how many tobacco users or uncertified family members you cover.

Tobacco users of Any Age and Adults Age 18 and Over  
Who Fail to Certify Monthly Tobacco user Premium 

Member or Spouse or Children* Only $30
Member + Spouse or Member + Children* or Spouse + Children* $60
Family (Member + Spouse + Children*) $90

*The charge for a child is the same regardless of how many children in the household use tobacco or how many covered children age 
18 or over are not certified.

If you are a tobacco-user, you may be able to participate in an alternative to the tobacco-user premium, if it is right for your 
health status and complies with your doctor’s recommendations. Please visit www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/
Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification for more information.

http://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
http://www.ers.texas.gov/About-ERS/Policies/Tobacco-Policy-and-Certification
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The plans on this page are not available to surviving dependents, or those enrolled through COBRA and COBRA Disability.

Optional Term Life Insurance
Optional Term Life Insurance

Age Election 1 
Annual Salary x 1

Election 2 
Annual Salary x 2

Election 3* 
Annual Salary x 3

Election 4*† 
Annual Salary x 4

Monthly Rate per $1,000 of Annual Salary
Under 25 $	 0.05 $	  0.10 $	 0.15 $	 0.20
25 - 29    0.05     0.10     0.15 0.20
30 - 34    0.06     0.12     0.18 0.24
35 - 39    0.06     0.12     0.18 0.24
40 - 44    0.08     0.16     0.24 0.32
45 - 49   0.13     0.26     0.39 0.52
50 - 54   0.20     0.40     0.60 0.80
55 - 59   0.35     0.70     1.05 1.40
60 - 64   0.60    1.20    1.80 2.40
65 - 69   0.98    1.96    2.94 3.92
70 - 74   1.56    3.12    4.68 6.24
75 - 79   2.55    5.10    7.65 10.20
80 - 84   4.15    8.30    12.45 16.60
85 - 89   7.18  14.36 21.54 28.72
90+ 11.18  22.36 33.54 44.72

After the first 31 days of 
employment, Elections 
1 and 2 require approval 
through evidence of 
insurability (EOI). 

Elections 3 and 4 always 
require EOI approval.

Beginning at age 70, 
Optional Term Life 
coverage is reduced to a 
percentage of your annual 
salary as follows:

Age 70-74	 65%

Age 75-79	 40%

Age 80-84	 25%

Age 85-89	 15%

Age 90+	 10%

Dependent Term Life Insurance
Employee: $1.45 per month for $5,000 

(includes $5,000 AD&D coverage)  

Voluntary Accidental Death & Dismemberment Insurance (AD&D)*
You may enroll in AD&D coverage according to the following table:

Age Minimum Coverage Maximum Coverage Minimum Increments
Under 70 $	 10,000 $	 200,000 $	 5,000

70-74 6,500 130,000 3,250
75-79 4,000 80,000 2,000
80-84 2,500 50,000 1,250
85-89 1,500 30,000 750
90+ 1,000 20,000 500

You Only 
$0.02 per $1,000 of coverage

You + Family 
$0.04 per $1,000 of coverage

Texas Income Protection PlanSM (TIPP)*
Short-term disability Long-term disability

$0.24 per $100 of monthly salary $0.68 per $100 of monthly salary
*Optional Term Life Insurance at Elections 3 and 4, AD&D, and short-term and long-term disability insurance are not available to retirees.
†Optional Term Life Insurance is limited to a maximum of $400,000 or four times your annual salary, whichever is less.
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ERS website: ers.texas.gov
The ERS website has information and tools to help you make 
the best use of your benefits. Use the Search function to 
find detailed information on ERS insurance, retirement and 
related benefits.

Monthly News About Your Benefits
This e-newsletter provides information on available 
programs, wellness, health plans and other benefits. You can 
sign up to get this every month and other news by email at 
service.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXERS/subscriber/
new?topic_id=TXERS_45.

Your annual Statement of 
Retirement Benefits
After your birthday each year, ERS will send you a 
personalized statement that shows your earliest retirement 
date, retirement age and projected annuity. This statement 
provides important retirement planning information, including 
benefit estimates and vesting information. You should review 
it every year. If you are an ERS member, you can also get 
an estimate of your retirement annuity by signing in to your 
account at https://ers.texas.gov/my-account-login.

Your Texa$aver quarterly 
statement
You will get a statement each quarter from Texa$aver, 
currently administered by Empower Retirement, detailing 
your Texa$aver account balance and investment choices.

Your annual Personal Benefits 
Enrollment Statement
Before Summer Enrollment every year, ERS will send you 
a personalized statement listing your current coverage, 
costs and choices for the next plan year. You will have the 
opportunity to make changes each year during Summer 
Enrollment. You should review this statement even if you do 
not think you will make any changes.

Your HR department
See your agency’s benefits coordinator or human resources 
representative for help signing up for and understanding 
insurance benefits.

 

Presentations and events
ERS holds seminars, webinars, fairs and other events 
throughout the year.

•	 Summer Enrollment fairs and webinars: Every year 
during Summer Enrollment, ERS and our GBP program 
administrators offer webinars and travel around the state 
to inform employees and pre-Medicare retirees about any 
benefits changes for the upcoming plan year. We also 
share ways you can get the most from your GBP benefits.

•	 Ready, Set, Retire!: Conducted throughout the state and 
as a webinar, this is a free 90-minute seminar on ERS 
retirement and the Texa$aver 401(k) / 457 Program.

•	 Medicare Preparation: Conducted throughout the 
state and as a webinar, this presentation helps those 
approaching Medicare eligibility understand enrollment 
and how Medicare works with state health insurance.

•	 Health and wellness: ERS hosts wellness events and 
webinars that provide you with the tools you need to take 
charge of your health.

To see a list of upcoming events or to register, go to  
https://ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars/.

Contacting ERS after hours
For 24/7 access to automated information on your insurance 
and retirement benefits, call toll free (877) 275-4377.

Designate your beneficiaries
It’s not required within your first month, but it’s a good idea to 
designate your beneficiaries for life insurance, your State of 
Texas Retirement account balance and Texa$aver account 
as soon as you can.

•	 For life insurance and State of Texas Retirement, log in to 
your ERS OnLine account. You will need to provide your 
beneficiaries’ Social Security numbers, dates of birth and 
mailing addresses.

•	 For Texa$aver, download a beneficiary designation form 
from the website at texasaver.empower-retirement.com/.

You can find instructions on how to designate your 
beneficiaries for each type of account at https://ers.
texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/
Update-Your-Beneficiaries.

Learn more about your State of Texas benefits

https://ers.texas.gov
http://service.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXERS/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXERS_45
http://service.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXERS/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXERS_45
https://ers.texas.gov/my-account-login
https://ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars/
http://texasaver.empower-retirement.com/
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
https://ers.texas.gov/Contact-ERS/Additional-Resources/Update-Your-Beneficiaries
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Get care from an in-network 
provider.
In-network providers have a contract to provide care at a 
lower rate negotiated by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas 
(BCBSTX), the third-party administrator of the HealthSelect 
of Texas plans. So, they typically cost you less than an out-
of-network provider. BCBSTX also makes sure they have the 
credentials to provide appropriate, high- quality care.

Out-of-network providers do not have a contract with 
BCBSTX to accept the lower amount. If you see an out-of-
network provider, you may be responsible for the difference 
between what the plan usually pays (the allowable amount) 
and what the provider charges, as well as any applicable out-
of-network deductibles, coinsurance and copays.

Call BCBSTX or visit healthselectoftexas.com and click 
on “"Find a Doctor, Lab, or Hospital" ” to find in-network 
providers in your health plan. Call Express Scripts or visit 
healthselectrx.com to find in-network pharmacies.

Consider a Virtual Visit when 
appropriate—for both medical and 
mental health.
Virtual Visits through Doctor on Demand® and MDLIVE® are 
covered at 100% if you are enrolled in HealthSelect of Texas, 
HealthSelectSM Out-of-State or HealthSelectSM Secondary. 
If you are enrolled in Consumer Directed HealthSelect, you 
must meet your annual deductible. After you meet your 
deductible, you will pay 20% coinsurance. Virtual Visits are 
more convenient— letting you consult with a Board-certified 
doctor or mental health professional via smartphone, tablet 
or computer from home or anywhere you have internet 
access. Learn more at healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/
medical-benefits/virtual-visits.

In HealthSelect of Texas, choose a 
PCP and get referrals when needed.
If you are in HealthSelect of Texas, you need to designate a 
primary care provider (PCP) on file with BCBSTX and make 
sure you have your PCP’s referral on file with BCBSTX 
before you see most specialists. Otherwise, your specialist 
visit will be considered out of network, even if the specialist 
is in the HealthSelect network. You can verify that a referral 
is in place by calling BCBSTX or logging in to your Blue 
Access for Members Account at healthselectoftexas.com. 
(Some specialist visits don’t require referrals. Find out which 
on page 10 of this guide, on the HealthSelect website or by 
calling BCBSTX.)

Use the Provider Finder tool.
You can estimate health costs and compare costs for 
different providers. Log in to your Blue Access for Members 
account and click the "Doctors & Hospitals" tab at the top 
of the screen. Select "Find a Doctor or Hospital" and use 
“Provider Finder” to estimate health costs with different in-
network providers. With Provider Finder, you’ll be able to:
•	 compare costs for in-network providers and procedures,
•	 compare quality ratings for those providers,
•	 estimate out-of-pocket costs,
•	 consider your treatment options and
•	 save money and make the best use of your health care 

benefits.

Compare costs before you go.
You can find the lowest-cost in-network providers for a 
number of procedures and services in your area:

1.	 Log in to your Blue Access for Members account at 
healthselectoftexas.com.

2.	 Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the Cost 
Estimator.

3.	 Input the requested information to compare the costs of 
care with different in-network providers.

You can also save money on prescriptions by logging in to 
your Express Scripts account at healthselectRx.com and 
using the Drug Pricing Tool to compare a drug’s cost across 
in-network pharmacies, or learn what you could save by 
using the mail-order pharmacy.

Tips for saving money in HealthSelect plans
Making the best use of your HealthSelect benefits might require a little extra effort. Learn about your coverage, confirm that all 
providers are in the network, get referrals when needed, and opt for lower-cost drugs and providers when appropriate. Taking 
those extra steps will help you save money–sometimes a lot of money– and avoid surprise bills, while getting high-quality care.

http://healthselectoftexas.com/
http://healthselectrx.com
http://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/virtual-visits
http://healthselect.bcbstx.com/content/medical-benefits/virtual-visits
http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://healthselectRx.com/
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How does the HealthSelectShoppERS 
program work? 
After your primary care provider (PCP) or specialist 
recommends a HealthSelectShoppERS-eligible medical 
procedure or service, you:

1.	 Log in to Blue Access for Members at  
healthselectoftexas.com, click the “Doctors and Hospitals” 
tab, and then the “Find a Doctor or Hospital” link.

2.	 In Provider Finder, select “Browse by Category” and type 
in the name of your procedure to search.

3.	 From the list of health care providers (facilities) that 
perform the procedure, follow the prompts to select 
a lower-cost, quality provider that qualifies for a 
HealthSelectShoppERS reward.

4.	 Have your medical service or procedure completed at the 
HealthSelectShoppERS-eligible facility.
Note: A referral or prior authorization may be required 
for your procedure. If you have questions about referrals 
or prior authorizations, call a BCBSTX Personal Health 
Assistant toll-free at (800) 252-8039, Monday–Friday,  
7 a.m. – 7 p.m. and Saturday 7 a.m. – 3 p.m. CT.

5.	 When your medical service or procedure is complete, your 
provider will submit the claim to BCBSTX for processing. 
Once BCBSTX processes the claim and as long as you are 
still eligible, ERS will deposit your reward into your TexFlex 
health care flexible spending account (FSA) or limited-
purpose FSA. If you do not have a TexFlex health care or 
limited-purpose FSA before you earn a reward, ERS will 
open one for you.

You can earn up to $500 in rewards, total per family, 
each plan year. For more information, please see the 
HealthSelectShoppERS Frequently Asked Questions at 
healthselectoftexas.com.

Confirm network status and 
costs for doctor visits, lab work, 
radiology and other services.
•	 If your doctor orders lab work or imaging, confirm that 

the lab or imaging center is in your HealthSelect network 
by calling BCBSTX or visiting the Find a Doctor/Hospital 
page of healthselectoftexas.com.

•	 Find out how much you might owe for a test before you 
agree to it.

Confirm network status for 
facilities, surgery centers and 
emergency rooms.
•	 If possible, confirm in advance if the facility, surgery 

center or emergency room is in your health plan’s 
network. Most freestanding emergency rooms not 
affiliated with a hospital are not in the HealthSelect 
network.

•	 Use Provider Finder to locate in-network emergency 
room(s) and urgent care facilities closest to your home, 
work and other places where you spend a lot of time—
before you need urgent or emergency care.

•	 If possible, confirm that all providers involved in your care 
are in the HealthSelect network. This includes providers 
of these types of services: anesthesia, pathology, 
radiology, surgery and surgical assistants. The Where to 
Go for Care handout at https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/
pdf/where-to-go-for-care.pdf provides details on how 
much out-of-pocket costs can vary by provider. 

•	 If you have an actual medical emergency, call an 
ambulance or go to the nearest emergency room.

For more tips on using your health care dollars wisely and 
avoiding unexpected health care costs, visit ers.texas.gov/
Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs.

Participate in HealthSelectShoppERSSM.
You may earn rewards when you choose to save with HealthSelectShoppERS on certain medical 
services. HealthSelectShoppERS is a health care shopping and savings program available to 
benefits- eligible active employees enrolled in HealthSelect of Texas®, HealthSelectSM Out-of-State 
or Consumer Directed HealthSelectSM. Retirees, Medicare-primary participants, COBRA members 
and HealthSelectSM Secondary participants are not eligible for the HealthSelectShoppERS program.

HealthSelectShoppERS can help you:
•	 compare costs for many health care procedures,

•	 estimate out-of-pocket costs,

•	 earn rewards for certain medical services and procedures by shopping for care and choosing lower cost providers, and

•	 save money and get the most value from your health care benefits.

http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://healthselectoftexas.com
http://healthselectoftexas.com
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/pdf/where-to-go-for-care.pdf
https://healthselect.bcbstx.com/pdf/where-to-go-for-care.pdf
http://ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs
http://ers.texas.gov/Avoiding-Unexpected-Health-Costs
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Use emergency rooms for emergencies only.
Did you know that going to an emergency room can cost you more than five times as much as going to 
urgent care? Did you also know that it can cost the plan 10 times more, sometimes higher? A procedure 

that costs your health plan $100 in an urgent care facility can cost more than $1,000 at an emergency room. Why 
should you care? When costs for the plan increase, premiums increase. Help keep costs low. If you have a primary care 
provider, you can often schedule an office visit the same day. Urgent care centers have extended hours for whenever 
the unexpected occurs. Save money, and save the emergency room visit for life-threatening illnesses and accidents.

Know your benefits.
Call a BCBSTX Personal Health Assistant toll-free at (800) 252-8039, Monday – Friday, 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. and Saturday  
7 a.m. – 3 p.m. CT.

BCBSTX Personal Health Assistants are here to help you understand and use your HealthSelect benefits. They can:

•	 answer questions about benefits,

•	 assist with prior authorizations and referrals,

•	 provide information about programs and benefits available to you,

•	 help you locate an in-network provider,

•	 explain health care costs and options for care,

•	 provide you with cost estimates for services,

•	 schedule or cancel medical appointments,

•	 help you use self-service tools and connect you to other resources.

You can also visit healthselectoftexas.com to find out more about your HealthSelect benefits, locate an in-network provider, 
view claims and explanations of benefits (EOBs), and more!

Keep plan information handy with the BCBSTX mobile app.
Download the mobile app by texting BCBSTXAPP to the phone number 33633

Provider Finder Care In-NetworkDashboard

http://healthselectoftexas.com
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Understanding insurance terms 

Balance billing
When a patient owes an out-of-network provider for the difference between amount billed by 
their provider and the amount paid by the plan, after the GBP member pays any applicable 
deductibles, copays and/or coinsurance. You cannot be balance billed by an in-network provider.

Copay

A fixed amount you pay for a covered health service, usually at the time you receive the service. 
For example, HealthSelect of Texas has a $25 copay per visit to your in-network primary care 
provider (PCP) for non-preventive care. If you see your PCP for a sore throat, you will pay $25 
before you leave the doctor’s office.

Coinsurance A percentage of the allowable amount for a covered service or product that you are required to 
pay for covered health care and prescription drug services.

Deductible

The amount you are required to pay for covered health care or prescription drug expenses before 
your plan begins to pay for any services (except in-network preventive care) each year. If you 
have a $50 prescription drug deductible, for example, you must pay the full cost of the $50 drug 
deductible of covered prescription drugs. Deductibles for the HealthSelect plans reset on Jan. 1.

Total out-of-pocket 
maximum

The maximum amount you and your covered dependents must pay for in-network copays, 
coinsurance and deductibles within a year. If you reach the out-of-pocket maximum, the plan pays 
100% of covered, in-network health expenses for the rest of the calendar year. These maximums 
help protect you from catastrophic health costs. All health plans have the same total out-of-pocket 
maximums for covered in-network health and prescription drug costs. The total out-of-pocket 
maximums reset on Jan. 1 for the HealthSelect plans.

Out-of-pocket 
coinsurance maximum

The most you are required to pay each year for coinsurance for covered health services. This 
amount does not include copays. The out-of-pocket coinsurance maximum resets on Jan. 1 for 
the HealthSelect plans.

Evidence of 
insurability (EOI)

Proof of good health, established during an application process for certain types of insurance, such 
as life and disability insurance. During the process, you provide information about your health.

Monthly premiums The cost you pay monthly for health care coverage.

Plan year For GBP plans, the plan year is Sept. 1 through Aug. 31. However, certain aspects of some of the 
plans are based on the calendar year (Jan. 1 – Dec.31).

Third-party 
administrator (TPA)

The company contracted by ERS to manage certain aspects of many of our benefit plans. For 
example, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas is the TPA for the HealthSelect of Texas and 
Consumer Directed HealthSelect medical plans. As such, it manages the provider network, 
processes claims (ERS pays the claims) and provides customer service. By contracting with 
TPAs, ERS saves money in administrative costs.
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Benefits quick links
The valuable benefits available to you as a state employee are intended to help you care for yourself and your family as you 
provide vital services to the people of Texas. Health coverage and the retirement plan are competitive with benefits offered by 
other government and private-sector employers. Optional benefits, such as dental and vision insurance, and the Texa$averSM 
401(k) / 457 Program, are funded entirely by participating members. ERS oversees the benefits and contracts with third-party 
administrators (TPAs) who help manage some aspects of our programs. TPAs help keep administrative costs low to ensure the 
best value for our members. 

Use the following quick links to find details about coverage, eligibility, saving for retirement, wellness, events and other ERS 
resources. Benefits coordinators or the human resources team at your agency can also answer questions and offer guidance.

Texa$aver
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-

Employees/Retirement/Benefits-
of-Texa%24aver-Program

New Employee Benefits

Optional Benefits

https://ers.texas.gov/
new-employee

https://ers.texas.gov/
Benefits-at-a-Glance/

Optional-Add-on-Benefits

Health Insurance

Wellness Programs

https://ers.texas.gov/
Active-Employees/

Health-Benefits

https://ers.texas.gov/
Wellness-Resources-en/

Wellness-Active

Eligibility

ERS Events

https://ers.texas.gov/
Benefits-at-a-Glance/

GBP-Eligibility

https://ers.texas.gov/
Event-Calendars

Retirement
https://ers.texas.gov/

Benefits-at-a-Glance/Retirement

Benefits at a Glance 
https://ers.texas.gov/
benefits-at-a-glance

https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Retirement/Benefits-of-Texa%24aver-Program
https://ers.texas.gov/new-employee
https://ers.texas.gov/new-employee
https://ers.texas.gov/new-employee
https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/Optional-Add-on-Benefits
https://ers.texas.gov/Active-Employees/Health-Benefits
https://ers.texas.gov/Wellness-Resources-en/Wellness-Active
https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/GBP-Eligibility
https://ers.texas.gov/Event-Calendars
https://ers.texas.gov/Benefits-at-a-Glance/Retirement
https://ers.texas.gov/benefits-at-a-glance
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Contact information
Health Insurance

Other programs

Dental Insurance

Vision Insurance

Short-term and long-term disability insurance

Life and accidental death & dismemberment insurance

Health and Human Services Enterprise Employees: DADS, DFPS, DSHS, HHSC, CPRIT
The HHS Employee Service Center acts as your benefits coordinator. Contact the Center toll-free at (888) 894-4747.

Plan Administrator Phone number Website
HealthSelect of Texas®

HealthSelectSM Out-of-State
Consumer Directed 
HealthSelectSM

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas

Group number – 238000 

Toll-free: (800) 252-8039
(TTY: 711)

Nurseline: (800) 581-0368
www.healthselectoftexas.com

HealthSelect Prescription 
Drug Program Express Scripts Toll-free: (800) 935-7189

(TTY: 711) www.HealthSelectRx.com

Consumer Directed 
HealthSelect health savings 
accounts (HSAs)

Optum Bank Toll-free: (800) 791-9361
(TTY: 711) www.optumbank.com

Plan Administrator Phone number Website
TexFlexSM Inspira Financial Toll-free: (866) 353-9839 (TTY: 711) www.texflexers.com
Texa$averSM 401(k) / 457 
Program Empower Retirement Toll-free: (800) 634-5091  

(TTY: (800) 766-4952) www.texasaver.com

Dependent eligibility 
verification Alight Solutions Toll-free: (866) 416-4091 (TTY:711) www.yourdependentverification.

com/plan-smart-info

Discount Purchase Program Beneplace Toll-free: (800) 683-2886 (TTY: 711)
Austin-area local: (512) 346-3300

www.Beneplace.com/
DiscountProgramERS

Plan Administrator Phone number Website
State of Texas Dental Choice 
PlanSM PPO

Delta Dental
Group number – 20020 

Toll-free: (888) 818-7925 www.ERSdentalplans.com
DeltaCare® USA DHMO Delta Dental

Group number – 70140 

Plan Administrator Phone number Website

State of Texas VisionSM EyeMed Vision Care, LLC
Group number – 1050072

Toll-free: (844) 949-2170  
(TTY: 711) www.StateofTexasVision.com

Plan Administrator Phone number Website

Texas Income 
Protection 
PlanSM (TIPP)

Alight, Inc.  
Evidence of Insurability underwritten 
by Guardian Life Insurance 

Toll-free: (855) 604-6230
(TTY: 711)
EOI underwriting questions: 
Requested_Information@glic.com 

www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com

Plan Administrator Phone number Website
Basic Term Life and AD&D Insurance
Optional Term Life Insurance
Dependent Term Life Insurance
Voluntary AD&D Insurance

Securian Financial 
Group, Inc. 

Toll-free: (877) 494-1716
(TTY: 711)

www.lifebenefits.com/
plandesign/ers

http://www.healthselectoftexas.com
http://www.HealthSelectRx.com
http://www.optumbank.com
http://www.texflexers.com
http://www.texasaver.com
http://www.yourdependentverification.com/plan-smart-info
http://www.yourdependentverification.com/plan-smart-info
http://www.Beneplace.com/ DiscountProgramERS
http://www.Beneplace.com/ DiscountProgramERS
http://www.ERSdentalplans.com
http://www.StateofTexasVision.com
mailto:Requested_Information@glic.com
http://www.texasincomeprotectionplan.com
http://www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers
http://www.lifebenefits.com/plandesign/ers
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Please read this notice carefully and 
keep it where you can find it. No action is 
required of you at this time.
Federal law requires ERS to send this notice to people who 
may be eligible for Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
and are enrolled in health insurance that is part of the GBP 
provided by the State of Texas. You have GBP prescription 
drug coverage through your enrollment in one of the GBP 
health plans.

This notice provides:
•	 important information about your current prescription drug 

coverage,

•	 answers that will assist you in deciding whether  
you should purchase Medicare Prescription  
Drug Coverage,

•	 contact numbers for more information and

•	 a document that you can use later to avoid a  
penalty for late enrollment in Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage.

Q. What is Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage (sometimes called Part D)?
A. Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage is a prescription 
program that is available to people who qualify for Medicare 
Part A or Medicare Part B. Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage started on January 1, 2006.

Q. What is creditable coverage and does 
GBP coverage meet this definition?
A. The prescription drug coverage offered by the GBP has 
been examined by ERS’ consulting actuaries and is, on 
average for all plan participants, expected to pay out as 
much as standard Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
pays. The GBP is therefore considered to be creditable 
coverage.

Q. Why is creditable coverage important to 
Medicare-eligible participants in the GBP?
A. Because you have creditable coverage under the GBP, 
the Social Security Administration (SSA) has said that you 
will not have to pay a penalty if you join a private Medicare 
prescription drug plan later. Each year, there is an enrollment 
period that allows people with Medicare to enroll in private 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage. Although you will 
have a chance to enroll every year, normally you would have 
to pay a penalty if you enrolled after your initial eligibility 
date. However, because you have creditable coverage 
under the GBP, you can choose to join a private Medicare 
prescription drug plan later without a penalty.

Q. Should I enroll in private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage?
A. Most Medicare-eligible participants in the GBP should 
NOT enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
because, for most people, the GBP prescription drug coverage 
will provide better benefits at a lower cost. If you qualify for 
financial assistance, you could benefit from private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage and you would get savings on 
premiums, copays and coinsurance. 

Q. How do I know if I qualify for financial 
assistance with private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage?
A. Financial assistance is available to Medicare beneficiaries 
with incomes up to 150% of the Federal Poverty Level 
(FPL) and limited resources. The FPL is set each year. ERS 
does not make this determination or set the guidelines. To 
determine if you qualify for financial assistance with private 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage, you should contact 
the SSA toll-free at (800) 772-1213. TTY users should call 
toll-free at (800) 325-0778. Or visit SSA online at  
www.socialsecurity.gov.

Notice of creditable coverage: Plan year 2025
This notice applies to you if you are both: 
• entitled to Medicare Part A and/or enrolled in Medicare Part B and 
• enrolled in Texas Employees Group Benefits Program health insurance.

Important notice from the Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) about your Texas Employees Group Benefits 
Program (GBP) prescription drug coverage and Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage (sometimes called Part D).

Legal Notices
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Q. Is private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage free?
A. No. If you enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage, you will pay a monthly premium. The amount 
will likely increase each year. You will also have to pay the 
private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage deductibles 
and copays.

Q. How does private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage work?
A. Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage is offered through 
private prescription drug plans that have been approved 
by Medicare. All private Medicare prescription drug plans 
offer a standard level of coverage set by Medicare. Some 
plans might also offer more coverage for a higher monthly 
premium. If you enroll in a private Medicare prescription 
drug plan, you will receive a prescription drug card that you 
will present to your pharmacy to cover a portion of your 
prescription drug costs. 

Q. Will private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage have any effect on my medical 
plan under the GBP?
A. Yes, if the private Medicare Prescription Drug plan also 
includes Medicare Advantage medical coverage. Medicare 
rules do not allow you to be enrolled in a GBP Medicare 
Advantage plan (HealthSelectSM Medicare Advantage) and 
a private Medicare Prescription Drug plan that includes 
Medicare Advantage medical coverage at the same time. If 
you enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage 
and it has a Medicare Advantage medical plan included, your 
medical coverage with the HealthSelect Medicare Advantage 
plan will be terminated and you will be automatically enrolled 
in your previous non-Medicare Advantage plan under the 
GBP. If you are enrolled in a non-Medicare GBP medical 
plan, there is no change to your medical coverage. 

If you enroll in ERS’ HealthSelect Medicare Advantage, and 
do not decline ERS’ HealthSelectSM Medicare RX prescription 
drug coverage, your private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage will be terminated.  

Q. Will private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage have any effect on HealthSelect 
Medicare Rx?
A. Yes. Medicare rules do not allow you to be in two different 
Medicare prescription drug plans at the same time. If you 
enroll in a private Medicare prescription drug plan you will no 
longer be eligible for the HealthSelect Medicare Rx plan and 
will lose all prescription drug coverage through ERS.

Q. Most GBP participants were 
encouraged not to enroll in private 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage last 
year. What about future years?
A. You do not need to sign up for private Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage for the coming plan year. 
However, you should know that if you drop or lose your 
coverage under the GBP and do not enroll in private 
Medicare Prescription Drug Coverage within 63 days after 
your current GBP coverage ends, you may be required to 
pay more to enroll in private Medicare Prescription Drug 
Coverage later.

Q. Where can I get more information?
A. More detailed information about private Medicare plans 
that offer prescription drug coverage is available in the 
Medicare & You handbook. You may have received a copy 
of the handbook in the mail from Medicare. The handbook 
is also available at the website below. You may also be 
contacted directly by approved, private Medicare prescription 
drug plans. To get more information about private Medicare 
prescription drug plans:

•	 Visit www.medicare.gov for personalized help.

•	 Call your State Health Insurance Assistance Program. 
(See your copy of the Medicare & You handbook for their 
telephone number.)

•	 Call toll-free at (800) MEDICARE (800) 633-4227.  
TTY users should call (877) 486-2048.

Keep this notice. If you enroll in one of the Medicare-approved prescription drug plans 
at a later date, you may need to submit a copy of this notice when you join to show that 
you are not required to pay a higher premium amount.

NOTE: You may receive this notice at other times in the future, such as before the next period you can enroll in Medicare 
Prescription Drug Coverage or if this coverage changes. You may also request a copy of this notice by calling ERS toll-free at 
(877) 275-4377.



1-877-275-4377

The Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. ERS provides free language aids and 
services, such as: written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats, and other 
formats), qualified interpreters, and written information in other languages. 

If you need these services, call: 1-877-275-4377, TDD: 711. 

If you believe that ERS has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of race, 
color, national origin, age, disability, or sex, you can file a grievance by mail, fax or email: 

Mail: Section 1557 Coordinator Employees Retirement System of Texas 
P.O. Box 13207, Austin, Texas 78711. Fax: 512-867-3480. 

Email: 1557coordinator@ers.texas.gov

For more information visit: ers.texas.gov

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services online, by mail or by 
phone at:

Online: https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf

Complaint forms are available at: http://www.hhs.gov/ocr/office/file/index.html.

Mail: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, SW, Room 509F, HHH Building, 
Washington, D.C. 20201. 

Phone: 1-800-368-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD). 

1-877-275-4377

The Employees Retirement System of Texas (ERS) complies with applicable Federal civil rights laws and does not 
discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability, or sex. ERS provides free language aids and 
services, such as: written information in other formats (large print, audio, accessible electronic formats, and other formats), 
qualified interpreters, and written information in other languages. 

If you need these services, call: 1-877-275-4377, TDD: 711. 

If you believe that ERS has failed to provide these services or discriminated in another way on the basis of race, color, 
national origin, age, disability, or sex, you can file a grievance by mail, fax or email: 

Mail: Section 1557 Coordinator Employees Retirement System of Texas 
P.O. Box 13207, Austin, Texas 78711. Fax: 512-867-3480. 

Email: 1557coordinator@ers.texas.gov 

For more information visit: http://www.ers.texas.gov 

You can also file a civil rights complaint with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services online, by mail, or email: 

Online: https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/smartscreen/main.jsf

Mail: Centralized Case Management Operations, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence 
Avenue, SW, Room 509F, HHH Building, Washington, D.C. 20201. 

Email: OCRComplaint@hhs.gov 

Please visit https://www.hhs.gov/civil-rights/filing-a-complaint/index.html for details.

mailto:1557coordinator@ers.texas.gov
http://www.ers.texas.gov
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/smartscreen/main.jsf
mailto:OCRComplaint@hhs.gov
https://www.hhs.gov/civil-rights/filing-a-complaint/index.html


Employees Retirement System of Texas 
Always available online at www.ers.texas.gov

24/7 access to information about insurance and retirement benefits  
To speak to a representative, call (877) 275-4377 (TDD: 711), Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. CT. 
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