

# Multistate Survey on the Regulation of Equine Performance-Enhancing Drugs

Prepared by the Research Division of the Texas Legislative Council

Published by the Texas Legislative Council P.O. Box 12128 Austin, Texas 78711-2128



Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst, Joint Chair Speaker Joe Straus, Joint Chair Debbie Irvine, Executive Director

September 2012

#### Introduction

This publication contains information on state regulations relating to performance-enhancing drug testing of racehorses, performance horses, and show horses in California, Florida, Kentucky, Louisiana, New York, Oklahoma, and Texas.

The overview of current regulations section includes, for each state, the state agency responsible for regulating the drug testing of racehorses and links to the agency's website; racehorse drug testing regimens; administrative and criminal penalties for the confirmed presence of a prohibited substance in a racehorse; a synopsis of performance-enhancing drug testing regulations for non-racehorses; and a brief summary of additional issues of interest related to racehorse drug testing. The last section of the overview provides links to other relevant state regulations that specify prohibited medications or drugs, establish acceptable levels of authorized medications or drugs, and prescribe the period of time before a race during which the administration of certain medications and drugs is prohibited.

The table provides, for each state, the eligibility requirements for a racehorse to be administered furosemide (Salix/Lasix); prerace requirements for the administration of furosemide to an eligible horse and related penalties; and penalties for the presence of an impermissible amount of furosemide in an eligible horse's post-race sample. The eligibility requirements for a racehorse to be administered furosemide vary among the states. In each of the states surveyed, furosemide must be administered to an eligible horse no later than four hours prior to the start of a race and the authorized dosage ranges from 100 milligrams to 500 milligrams. Most states regulate the permissible amount of furosemide in a horse's post-race sample and establish penalties for an impermissible amount, including fines and license suspensions.

### **Overview of Current Regulations**

### **Regulatory Agencies**

The following state agencies regulate the drug testing of racehorses, and horse racing generally, in each respective state:

- California Horse Racing Board
- <u>Division of Pari-mutuel Wagering of the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation</u>
- Kentucky Horse Racing Commission
- Louisiana Racing Commission
- New York State Racing and Wagering Board
- Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission
- Texas Racing Commission

### **Racehorse Drug Testing Regimens**

### Post-Race and General Testing<sup>1</sup>

Each of the seven states surveyed requires the collection of a post-race specimen for drug testing from each horse that finishes first in a race. Additionally, California requires the collection of a post-race specimen from a horse that finishes second or third in any stakes race with a gross purse of \$75,000 or more and from not fewer than six or more than nine other horses designated for testing by certain racing officials. Kentucky requires the collection of a post-race specimen from at least one horse other than the winner in a race with a purse of more than \$2,500 but less than \$100,000 and from the horses finishing second and third in a race with a purse of \$100,000 or more. Louisiana requires the collection of a post-race specimen from three horses in addition to the winner as designated by the race stewards. New York requires the collection of a post-race specimen from at least one horse other than the winner as designated by the race judges.

<sup>1</sup> 

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> General provisions of the Texas Administrative Code relating to the testing of race animals authorize the collection of a specimen for the purpose of testing for the presence of a prohibited drug, chemical, or other substance at any time in accordance with state rules. The rules specify certain animals that are subject to testing based on the results of a race, but also authorize random selection of horses for testing without specifying if such a test is administered pre-race or post-race.

Each of the seven states surveyed authorizes the collection of a post-race specimen for drug testing from other horses at the discretion of the applicable regulatory agency, agency representatives, and certain racing officials. Additionally, Texas authorizes the collection of a specimen from a horse that finishes second, a horse that is a beaten favorite, and a horse that finishes third in a race with a gross purse of \$50,000 or more. In Kentucky, the winning horse at a county fair race is subject to a drug test as is any other horse selected by the fair judges.

#### **Pre-Race Testing**

California, Kentucky, Louisiana, New York, and Oklahoma also regulate the pre-race drug testing of racehorses. The California Horse Racing Board is authorized to require any horse entered to race to submit to a pre-race test. In Kentucky, a race steward is authorized at any time to order the taking of a specimen from any Quarter, Appaloosa, or Arabian horse entered in a race. Louisiana authorizes a race association to request a laboratory testing program for the detection of the presence of a prohibited medication or drug in a horse prior to a scheduled racing program and sets out requirements for such testing, including applicable penalties. New York requires the collection of a pre-race specimen, at a time and location specified by the New York State Racing and Wagering Board or its representative, from every horse programmed to race. Oklahoma authorizes a steward to require any horse entered to race to submit to a blood or other pre-race test.

#### Postmortem Testing

Florida, Kentucky, New York, and Texas authorize the postmortem examination, including the collection of a specimen for drug testing, of certain racehorses that die or that are euthanized on race grounds or other areas under the jurisdiction of the applicable regulatory agency. California and Oklahoma require a postmortem examination of such a racehorse and authorize the collection of test samples for foreign and natural substances.

### **Out-of-Competition Testing**

Kentucky, New York, and Oklahoma are the only states surveyed that provide for the regulation of out-of-competition drug testing of racehorses. In Kentucky and New York, a horse is subject to out-of-competition testing, without advance notice, for specified prohibited substances. Agency regulations limit the time frame and detail the venue for testing. Penalties for violating out-of-competition testing requirements in Kentucky include license revocation, a fine, and forfeiture of any purse money. A horse that tests positive for a prohibited substance is barred from racing in Kentucky until the horse has tested negative for any prohibited substance and is approved for racing by the commission veterinarian and the chief state steward. In New York, a horse that tests positive for a prohibited substance is ineligible to participate until the horse has tested negative for the identified substance, and the minimum penalty for not making a horse available for testing, absent extraordinary mitigating circumstances, is a 10-year suspension. Oklahoma

regulations require the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission to establish a procedure for out-of-competition screening for anabolic steroids.

#### Administrative Penalties for the Confirmed Presence of a Prohibited Substance in a Racehorse

California categorizes penalties for licensed horse trainers and owners based on the type of prohibited substance found in the horse and whether it is the trainer's or owner's first or subsequent violation. Penalties for trainers include fines; license suspension, including a permanent revocation in the presence of aggravating factors; and referral to the California Horse Racing Board for further disciplinary action. Penalties for owners include disqualification of a horse and loss of purse, ineligibility of the horse for future races, subjection of the horse to further drug testing, and temporary license suspension. While the penalties described above are not mandatory, the person responsible for reaching a decision on the appropriate penalty is required to consider those penalties; however, disqualification of a horse from a race and the forfeiture of any purse, award, prize, or record from the race is required on a finding that an official test sample from the horse contained certain prohibited substances.

Florida, for all racehorses, and Kentucky, for Thoroughbred horses and horses in harness races, also categorize penalties based on the type of prohibited substance found in the horse and whether it is a first or subsequent violation. The regulations do not specify separate penalties for trainers and owners, but do impose penalties that range from a minimum fine of \$250 and temporary license suspension to a maximum fine of \$5,000 and permanent license revocation in Florida or a maximum fine of \$50,000 in Kentucky. Kentucky also includes as a penalty suspension of the owner's horse for a prescribed period of time, depending on whether it is a first or subsequent offense. In Florida, the imposition of these penalties is required if a specified prohibited substance is found, whereas in Kentucky a person found in violation of the regulation is subject to the categorized penalties and the person deciding punishment is granted discretion to impose additional penalties. In addition, Florida and Kentucky require the return of any purse, prize, or other award for a violation.

Louisiana and Oklahoma require the stewards or racing commission, as applicable, to consider the classification level of a prohibited substance or medication violation as set out in the Association of Racing Commissioners International, Inc.'s <u>Uniform Classification Guidelines for Foreign Substances</u>, and grant limited discretion to the stewards and commission in imposing a greater or lesser penalty than the penalty established in that publication. Louisiana also establishes recommended guidelines for a violation of each classification level that range from a 60-day suspension of a trainer and a \$500 fine to a five-year license suspension and a \$5,000 fine. Louisiana and Oklahoma require the owner of a horse that is disqualified because of the confirmed presence of a prohibited substance to return any purse, sweepstakes, trophy, or other award, and Louisiana further requires that such an award be redistributed. Additionally, Louisiana requires that a horse declared by the stewards to be the winner or qualifier of an elimination or eligibility race for a futurity, stakes, or handicap be deemed to have forfeited its eligibility to compete in any subsequent race related to that futurity, stakes, or handicap if the state chemist's report on that horse indicates the presence of a prohibited substance.

California, Kentucky, and New York require a veterinarian involved in the administration of a prohibited substance to a horse to be referred to the applicable regulatory body. Kentucky requires the name of a person assessed a penalty relating to drug testing and the terms of the penalty to be placed on the racing commission's website, and New York requires any case in which it is reported to the New York State Racing and Wagering Board that narcotics or other controlled substances have been detected in a specimen from any horse to be reported to the Bureau of Narcotics of the Department of the Treasury of the United States. Louisiana requires the stewards or the Louisiana Racing Commission to sanction, by fine or license suspension, a veterinarian involved in the administration of a prohibited substance to a horse.

Kentucky also provides for the enforcement of separate penalties not categorized according to the type of prohibited substance for Quarter, Appaloosa, and Arabian horses. A Kentucky race steward and the racing commission are authorized to declare ineligible for racing or disqualify from a race any horse or person; deny, suspend, revoke, or void a license; exclude or eject a person from all association grounds; and require that a person pay an alternative forfeiture amount in lieu of a license suspension or revocation.

In Texas, on a finding of a prohibited substance in a racehorse, the race stewards or racing judges are authorized to disqualify the horse and order the purse redistributed, declare the horse ineligible to race for a period of time, and impose on the horse's trainer or another person responsible for the horse or the administration of the prohibited substance certain other administrative penalties. Texas rules authorize the executive secretary of the Texas Racing Commission to promulgate a classification for prohibited drugs, chemicals, and other substances and a schedule for recommended disciplinary action in assessing penalties for a violation. In 2009, the commission published a *Medication and Penalty Guide* that categorizes penalties based on the type of prohibited substance found in the racehorse. The penalties in the guide range from a \$100 fine to a one-year suspension, a \$5,000 fine, and a loss of purse. The executive secretary of the commission is authorized to modify a penalty imposed by race stewards or judges and such a modified penalty may include a fine not to exceed \$10,000, a suspension not to exceed two years, or both a fine and a suspension.

New York authorizes the disqualification of a horse from a race and from any share of the purse if the test sample results in a positive test.

### Administrative Penalties Relating to a Prohibited Substance in a Racehorse Offered for Sale

California and Florida prohibit the administration to a racehorse of a substance recognized as an injectable, oral, or topical medication within 72 hours of the time the horse is offered for sale and authorize the collection of a blood sample for drug testing from a horse at a sale. In California, violation of this prohibition is punishable by fine or in a manner determined by the racing board. Florida makes it a misdemeanor for a person to violate the prohibition and bars any person so convicted from showing, exhibiting, or offering for sale at a licensed public sale any horse in Florida for two years from the date of conviction.

#### Criminal Penalties Relating to Administration of a Prohibited Substance

California, Florida, New York, and Oklahoma law establish criminal offenses relating to the attempt to affect a horse race by administering a specified prohibited substance to a racehorse. In California such an offense is uncategorized and punishable by fine or imprisonment or both. Florida makes such an offense punishable as a third degree felony, New York as a class E felony, and Oklahoma as a felony punishable by fine or imprisonment or both, and license suspension or revocation. Louisiana requires that a person who violates or attempts to violate the prohibition against administering a specified controlled dangerous substance or certain other drug to a racehorse be fined not less than \$1,000 or more than \$5,000, imprisoned with or without hard labor for not less than one year or more than five years, or both.

### **Regulation of Non-Racehorses**

California statute prohibits a horse from being shown in any class at a public horse show, horse competition, or horse sale if it has been administered a prohibited substance. Penalties for the trainer or owner of a horse found to have received a prohibited substance include a civil penalty or fee; the forfeiture of all prize money, sweepstakes, or other prizes; and a temporary suspension of a trainer, owner, or horse from competitions, as determined by the state Secretary of Food and Agriculture. California regulations provide for random testing of horses exhibited or entered in any public horse show, horse competition, or horse sale.

Florida prohibits a horse from being entered, shown, or exhibited in any class in any horse show or exhibition, or from being entered, exhibited, or sold in a horse sale, if the horse has been administered a forbidden substance. A horse entered in any horse show or exhibition or entered in any horse sale is subject to an examination, which may include physical, saliva, urine, and blood tests. The owner of a horse found to have been administered a forbidden substance is required to forfeit all prize money, sweepstakes, and other prizes. A violation of this prohibition is a misdemeanor, and a person so convicted is barred from showing, exhibiting, or offering for sale, at a public sale, any horse in Florida for a period of two years from the date of the conviction.

New York regulations prohibit a person from entering or driving a horse that has a drug in its body in a pulling contest, require an official sample from at least four horses chosen by lot in every weight class, and authorize the applicable veterinarian or judge to require an official sample from any other horse in the contest. Penalties for the owner of any horse that tests positive for the presence of drugs include the return of any premium awarded in the pulling contest, a fine, and a suspension from participating in pulling contests.

#### **Additional Issues of Interest**

- Each of the seven states surveyed regulates the administration of the drug furosemide to a racehorse considered a "bleeder," a horse that experiences bleeding after exercise. State regulations prescribe eligibility requirements for a horse to receive the medication, the maximum allowable amount of the medication, and how many hours before a race a horse may receive the medication, but these requirements vary by state. The *New York Times*<sup>2</sup> and Time.com, among other sources, have reported on the possible health and safety issues relating to this drug and other drugs for horses and jockeys and on the legality of the drug in other jurisdictions.
- Though not a drug, each of the states surveyed, except Florida and Oklahoma, prescribes the maximum allowable levels of carbon dioxide in a racehorse's blood and provides regulations for the testing of carbon dioxide levels.
- Racing Commissioners International, of which 44 jurisdictions and 9 neighboring territories or countries are members, published a set of <u>model rules</u> for horse racing, including rules classifying medications and prohibited substances and related penalties. These model rules are referenced in some of the surveyed states' regulations and in the <u>Code of Standards</u> issued by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association Safety and Integrity Alliance.
- Kentucky is currently the only state surveyed to have adopted the <u>Interstate Racing and Wagering Compact</u>, which is a project
  of Racing Commissioners International that enables member states to "act jointly and cooperatively to create a more equitable
  and uniform pari-mutuel racing and wagering interstate regulatory framework," including the adoption of standardized rules
  for racing and equine drug regulations.

#### **Other Relevant Regulations**

The following are links to state regulations that specify prohibited medications or drugs, establish acceptable levels of authorized medications or drugs, and prescribe the period of time before a race during which the administration of certain medications and drugs is prohibited:

#### • California

- o Cal. Code Regs. tit. 4, § 1843 Medication, Drugs and Other Substances
- o Cal. Code Regs. tit. 4, § 1843.5 Medication, Drugs and Other Substances Permitted After Entry in a Race

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> http://www.nytimes.com/2012/03/25/us/death-and-disarray-at-americas-racetracks.html?\_r=1

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> http://www.time.com/time/printout/0,8816,2069933,00.html

- o Cal. Code Regs. tit. 4, § 1844 Authorized Medication
- o Cal. Code Regs. tit. 4, § 1867 Prohibited Veterinary Practices

#### Florida

- o Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r. 61D-6.003 Permitted Medications; General Provisions
- o Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r. 61D-6.004 Prohibited Devices, Medications, and Procedures; Exceptions
- o Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r. 61D-6.008 Permitted Medications for Horses

#### Kentucky

- o <u>810 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:018</u> Medication; testing procedures; prohibited practices (Thoroughbred)
- o <u>810 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:110</u> Out-of-competition testing (Thoroughbred)
- o <u>811 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:090</u> Medication; testing procedures; prohibited practices (Harness Racing)
- o <u>811 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:240</u> Out-of-competition testing (Harness Racing)
- o <u>811 Ky. Admin. Regs. 2:096</u> Medication of horses (Quarter, Appaloosa, and Arabian horses)
- o <u>811 Ky. Admin. Regs. 2:150</u> Out-of-competition testing (Quarter, Appaloosa, and Arabian horses)
- Louisiana: There do not appear to be direct links to current Louisiana regulations. To view the regulations in a Word document, go to the Online Publications of the Louisiana Administrative Code and click "Title 35. Horse Racing; and Title 46:XLI. Professional and Occupational Standards: Horseracing Occupations." In this document's table of contents, click on the following rules in Chapters 15 and 17: Rule 1505 (Nonsteroidal and/or Anti-Inflammatory Medication); Rule 1716 (Human Recombinant Erythropoietin and/or Darbepoietin); and Rule 1721 (Modern Therapeutic Measures).
- New York: There do not appear to be direct links to current New York regulations. To view the regulations, go to the <a href="New York Department of State-Division of Administrative Rules">New York Department of State-Division of Administrative Rules</a> and click "TITLE 9. EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT." On the next page, click the icon next to "Subtitle T New York State Racing and Wagering Board," and then click the icon next to "Chapter I Racing." Subchapter A, Article 2, contains State Racing Commission Rules 4043.2 (Restricted use of drugs, medication and other substances), 4043.7 (Reserpine and fluphenazine), and 4043.15 (Anabolic steroids). Subchapter B contains State Harness Racing Commission Rules 4120.2 (Restricted use of drugs, medications and other substances), 4120.11 (Reserpine and

fluphenazine), and 4210.12 (Anabolic steroids). Subchapter C contains State Quarter Horse Racing Commission Rule 4236.2 (Restricted use of drugs, medication and other substances).

#### Oklahoma

- o Okla. Admin. Code § 325:45-1-4 Drugs or medication
- o Okla. Admin. Code § 325:45-1-6 Authorized medication
- o Okla. Admin. Code § 325:45-1-22 Phenylbutazone use
- o Okla. Admin. Code § 325:45-1-27 Prohibited practices

#### Texas

- o 16 T.A.C. § 319.3 Medication Restricted
- o 16 T.A.C. § 319.10 Devices and Substances Prohibited
- o 16 T.A.C. § 319.14 Possession of Certain Substances
- o 16 T.A.C. § 319.364 Testing for Androgenic-Anabolic Steroids
- o Texas Racing Commission's Medication and Penalty Guide

State	Furosemide Eligibility Requirements	Pre-race Requirements for Administration of Furosemide to an Eligible Horse, and Related Penalties	Penalties for an Impermissible Amount of Furosemide in an Eligible Horse's Post-race Sample
California	Authorizes the administration of furosemide for the control of exercise induced pulmonary hemorrhage to a horse on the authorized bleeder medication list and deems a horse eligible to race with authorized furosemide if the licensed trainer or veterinarian determines it is in the horse's best interest. Cal. Code Regs. tit. 4, § 1845	Requires a horse to be treated on the grounds of the racetrack where the horse will race no later than four hours prior to post time of the race for which the horse is entered and requires the furosemide to be administered by a single intravenous injection in a dosage of not less than 150 milligrams or more than 500 milligrams.  Cal. Code Regs. tit. 4, § 1845	Requires a horse racing with furosemide to show a detectable concentration of the drug in the post-race sample. The minimum allowable specific gravity of a horse's post-race urine sample is 1.010 and the maximum allowable amount of furosemide in a horse's post-race serum or plasma sample is 100 nanograms of furosemide per milliliter of serum or plasma.  Penalties range from a minimum fine of \$500 and a maximum fine of \$1,000 for a first offense absent mitigating circumstances to a minimum fine of \$2,500 and up to a 30-day suspension for a third offense within a 365-day period absent mitigating circumstances.  Cal. Code Regs. tit. 4, §§ 1845 and 1843.3

State	Furosemide Eligibility Requirements	Pre-race Requirements for Administration of Furosemide to an Eligible Horse, and Related Penalties	Penalties for an Impermissible Amount of Furosemide in an Eligible Horse's Post-race Sample
Florida	<ul> <li>Authorizes the use of furosemide solely for the treatment of:</li> <li>a Florida racehorse that has exhibited exercise induced pulmonary hemorrhage within three hours of exercise as witnessed and certified in writing by a Florida licensed veterinarian;</li> <li>an out-of-state horse racing in Florida that has been so witnessed and certified or has been certified by the racing commission or association or track veterinarian from the previous state; and</li> <li>a horse that has not exhibited external bleeding if the horse's licensed trainer and licensed veterinarian determine that it would be in the horse's best interest to race with furosemide and so notify the state veterinarian. Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r. 61D-6.008</li> </ul>	Requires a horse placed on the official Furosemide List to have furosemide administered on race day intravenously no closer than four hours prior to the officially scheduled post time of the race for which the horse is entered and in a dosage of not less than 150 milligrams or more than 500 milligrams. Penalties for a violation of these requirements include a fine, license suspension, and scratching of a horse. Additionally, penalties for not providing the required documention of a horse's eligibility to race on furosemide include disqualification of the horse, a fine and suspension of the horse's trainer, and redistribution of any purse, stake, award, or other prize or compensation. Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r. 61D-6.008	According to the Division of Parimutuel Wagering, Florida has not established a threshold amount of furosemide in a post-race sample.

State	Furosemide Eligibility Requirements	Pre-race Requirements for Administration of Furosemide to an Eligible Horse, and Related Penalties	Penalties for an Impermissible Amount of Furosemide in an Eligible Horse's Post-race Sample
Kentucky	Authorizes the administration of furosemide to a thoroughbred race horse entered to compete in a race if the horse's licensed trainer or a licensed veterinarian determines that it would be in the horse's best interests to race with furosemide. 810 Ky.  Admin. Regs. 1:018  Authorizes the administration of furosemide to a horse in a harness race entered to compete in a race, qualifying race, time trial, or official workout if the licensed trainer or licensed veterinarian determines that it would be in the horse's best interests to race with furosemide. 811 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:090	Requires furosemide to be administered to a thoroughbred horse or horse in a harness race at a location under the jurisdiction of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, by a single intravenous injection, and not less than four hours prior to post time for the race in which the horse is entered. The authorized dosage for a thoroughbred horse is not less than 150 milligrams or more than 500 milligrams and for a horse in a harness race, not less than 100 milligrams or more than 250 milligrams. Kentucky also authorizes the administration of up to two adjunct bleeder medications for a thoroughbred and one adjunct bleeder medication for a horse in a harness race.  810 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:018 and 811 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:090	Requires a thoroughbred horse or a horse in a harness race that is eligible to race with furosemide and entered in a race to show a detectable concentration of the drug in the post-race sample. The minimum allowable specific gravity of a horse's post-race urine sample is 1.010 and the maximum allowable amount of furosemide in a horse's post-race serum or plasma sample is 100 nanograms of furosemide per milliliter of serum or plasma.  Penalties for an unauthorized amount of furosemide in a thoroughbred horse's post-race sample range from a maximum five-day license suspension or a \$500 fine for a first offense to a maximum 15-day license suspension, a \$2,500 fine, or forfeiture of purse money for a third offense within a 365-day period.  Penalties for an unauthorized amount of furosemide in the post-race sample of a horse in a harness race range from a maximum 10-day license suspension, forfeiture of purse money, or a \$500

State	Furosemide Eligibility Requirements	Pre-race Requirements for Administration of Furosemide to an Eligible Horse, and Related Penalties	Penalties for an Impermissible Amount of Furosemide in an Eligible Horse's Post-race Sample
Kentucky (cont.)			fine for a first offense to a maximum 60-day license suspension, forfeiture of purse money, or a \$2,500 fine for a third offense within a 365-day period.  810 Ky. Admin. Regs. 1:018; 811 Ky.  Admin. Regs. 1:090; 810 Ky. Admin.  Regs. 1:028; and 811 Ky. Admin. Regs.  1:095
Louisiana	Authorizes approved bleeder medication to be voluntarily administered intravenously to a horse entered to compete in a race if the trainer or attending veterinarian determines it is in the horse's best interests to race with bleeder medication, the trainer or veterinarian makes a written request on the Louisiana Racing Commission veterinarian that the horse be placed on the voluntary bleeder medication list, and the request is actually received by the commission veterinarian or the commission veterinarian's designee by the time of entry. La. Admin. Code tit. 35, § 1507	Prohibits the administration of bleeder medication to a horse entered to race within four hours of post time of the race in which the horse is to run. Permitted bleeder medication is not limited to furosemide and also includes specific approved adjunct bleeder medications. The permitted amount of furosemide is a single intravenous injection of not less than 150 milligrams or more than 500 milligrams.  La. Admin. Code tit. 35, §§ 1507 and 1509 <sup>ii</sup>	Requires a horse racing with furosemide to show a detectable concentration of the drug in the post-race sample that is indicative of appropriate administration. The minimum allowable specific gravity of a horse's post-race urine sample is 1.010 and the maximum allowable amount of furosemide in a horse's post-race serum or plasma sample is 100 nanograms of furosemide per milliliter of serum or plasma.  Penalties for a violation of rules relating to bleeder medication include a fine, suspension, and license revocation. La. Admin. Code tit. 35, §§ 1507 and 1511

State	Furosemide Eligibility Requirements	Pre-race Requirements for Administration of Furosemide to an Eligible Horse, and Related Penalties	Penalties for an Impermissible Amount of Furosemide in an Eligible Horse's Post-race Sample
New York	<ul> <li>Authorizes the administration of furosemide to:</li> <li>a horse that has bled visibly during a race or workout, as determined by the racing association veterinarian;</li> <li>a horse that has bled during a race or workout, as determined by an attending veterinarian based on the veterinarian based on the veterinarian's clinical assessment of the horse;</li> <li>a horse that has been qualified by the state veterinarian or a veterinarian employed by the racetrack for the administration of furosemide in another racing jurisdiction; and</li> <li>a horse that has raced on furosemide in its last race in a jurisdiction with rules substantially similar to New York. N.Y. Comp. Codes R. &amp; Regs. tit. 9, §§ 4043.2, 4120.2, and 4236.2</li> </ul>	Requires the administration of furosemide, for a racehorse other than a quarter horse, by a single intravenous injection of not less than 150 milligrams or more than 500 milligrams and on the grounds of a licensed or franchised racing association or corporation during the time period from four to four and a half hours before the scheduled post time of the race in which the horse is to compete. The requirements for a quarter horse are the same as above except the minimum authorized amount of furosemide injection is 250 milligrams.  N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 9, §§ 4043.2, 4120.2, and 4236.2 <sup>iii</sup>	Makes a horse that is eligible for the administration of furosemide but that has not received such administration in the manner required by rule ineligible to start a race. N.Y. Comp. Codes R. & Regs. tit. 9, §§ 4043.2, 4120.2, and 4236.2 <sup>iii</sup> A threshold amount for furosemide in a post-race sample could not be located in the New York Rules and Regulations regarding horse racing.

State	Furosemide Eligibility Requirements	Pre-race Requirements for Administration of Furosemide to an Eligible Horse, and Related Penalties	Penalties for an Impermissible Amount of Furosemide in an Eligible Horse's Post-race Sample
Oklahoma	Requires a horse to be placed on the Bleeder and Furosemide User list if the horse is administered furosemide prior to a race or if the horse is a known bleeder as determined by a specified process of examination. Okla. Admin. Code § 325:45-1-12	Requires furosemide to be administered intravenously and not less than four hours prior to post time and in an amount not less than 150 milligrams or more than 250 milligrams. Okla. Admin. Code §§ 325:45-1-9 and 325:45-1-12	Provides that the maximum permissible post-race plasma concentration level of furosemide is 100 nanograms and requires a horse that is an official furosemide user to show a detectable concentration of furosemide in a post-race plasma or serum sample.  Penalties range from a \$500 fine for a first offense to a \$2,500 fine, a license suspension, disqualification of the horse, disqualification of the owner from receiving any portion of the purse or stakes, and the return of any trophy or other award for a third offense within a one-year period. Okla.  Admin. Code §§ 325:45-1-9 and 325:45-1-11

State	Furosemide Eligibility Requirements	Pre-race Requirements for Administration of Furosemide to an Eligible Horse, and Related Penalties	Penalties for an Impermissible Amount of Furosemide in an Eligible Horse's Post-race Sample
Texas	Authorizes a trainer to admit a horse to the furosemide program by stating at the time of entry that the horse will compete with furosemide and requires a horse that competed with furosemide in its most recent start out-of-state to compete on furosemide in Texas unless withdrawn from the furosemide program at the time of entry. 16 T.A.C. § 319.111	Requires furosemide to be administered intravenously to a horse in the furosemide program by a veterinarian licensed by the Texas Racing Commission not later than four hours before the published post time for the race the horse is entered to run. 16 T.A.C. § 319.111  The commission's Medication and Penalty Guide prescribes a dosage of 100 to 500 milligrams of furosemide when used therapeutically. (see page 17 of Guide)	Penalties in the Medication and Penalty Guide range from a \$100 fine for the first offense to a \$500 fine or a fine equal to 10% of the purse earned by the horse up to \$5,000, whichever is greater, for a third offense. (see page 30 of Guide)

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>i</sup> Kentucky does not currently regulate the administration of furosemide to a Quarter, Appaloosa, or Arabian horse. However, the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission has proposed a revised rule that does regulate furosemide use on race day in such horses.

There do not appear to be direct links to current Louisiana regulations. To view a Word document of the regulations, go to the Online Publications of the Louisiana Administrative Code and click "Title 35. Horse Racing; and Title 46:XLI. Professional and Occupational Standards: Horseracing Occupations." In that document's table of contents, click on the applicable rule.

There do not appear to be direct links to current New York regulations. To view the regulations, go to the <u>New York Department of State-Division of Administrative Rules</u> and click "TITLE 9. EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT." On the next page, click the icon next to "Subtitle T New York State Racing and Wagering Board," and then click the icon next to "Chapter I Racing." Subchapters A, B, and C contain the applicable rules.

The mission of the Texas Legislative Council is to provide professional, nonpartisan service and support to the Texas Legislature and legislative agencies.

In every area of responsibility, we strive for quality and efficiency.

This publication can be found at <a href="http://www.tlc.state.tx.us/policy.htm">http://capweb/RMD/rmd index.html</a>. If you have questions or comments regarding this publication, please contact the research division of the Texas Legislative Council by e-mail at <a href="https://capweb/RMD/rmd">RSCHweb@tlc.state.tx.us</a>.